Slow Cooker Spinach Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
The recipe, as is, would probably rate about 2-3 stars, but with the changes I made, it was delicious! I made it with the following tweaks (based on what other reviewers recommended): I sauteed the onions and garlic in 1 T of EVOO, throwing in the oregano and basil the last minute or so of cooking - and didn't add any more olive oil to the sauce. I used half the amount of oregano, basil, salt, and crushed red pepper the original recipe called for, and only 2-6oz. cans of tomato paste. I also threw in about 1 cup of shredded zucchini and served it over spaghetti squash. I got rave reviews from my wife and the 3 friends we had over for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I followed the recipes measurement but used all fresh organic ingredients I added a shallot, scallions, & three sweet peppers !! Truly the best marinara sauce I've ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misswillco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
My family loved this recipe!! When I made it I forgot it was for the crockpot so it simmered for a while. I thought it was very heavy on salt so I decreased that. I also sauteed the veggies (except spinach)before I added tomato. This was very thick so I added broth to it. Other than the minor changes it was amazing!! Definitely in out dinner rotations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Excellent if you are cutting down on meat. The red pepper was too much for me so If hot is not your thing, add way less or just not add any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNETTE154
Home Town: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sweetwater, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
We made it as to the directions with the only substitution being we used frozen chard instead of spinach. Cooked it in the slow cooker as directed. It was way, way too thick and the flavor was bitter to us. We used it for one meal and decided to throw out the very large amount of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Roloff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Using 2-1/2 TABLESPOONS of crushed red pepper made this dish uneatable. I believe it should be not more than 2 teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Too much salt. Too much oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I omitted the salt completely, and let people add it to their pasta if so inclined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momi
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I used caution with the spices, figuring that you can always add, but you can't take away. My sauce turned out delicious, but I went very easy on the spice: I added no salt, but I did sprinkle some garlic salt after it was plated, 1 T oregano, 1 T basil, and a dash of red pepper flakes (if I'd used 1 1/2 T as called for, I don' think it would be edible). I trimmed down the olive oil, and sauteed the onions and garlic before putting it to simmer. I omitted the mushrooms. I reduced the tomato paste to just a few squeezes of the tubed paste. I used fresh kale instead of spinach. I really like the carrots and greens in this sauce. Now that I think about it, I wonder if the recipe was supposed to be in teaspoons rather than tablespoons?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This is so good for a change! Smelled so good when I came home from work. I added a 1/2 lb. of browned hamburger. I used a 28oz. can of diced tomatoes and crushed tomatoes and 1 6oz can of paste. Less salt and a sprinkling of sugar. This cooked all day on low. I mixed this with a box of cooked rigatoni. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States