Slow Cooker Spinach Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2002
Excellent and super easy. I added too much red crushed pepper, but I love spicy food anyway. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie
Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Excellent! Everyone loved it. Absolutely THE BEST marinara sauce I've ever had... BY FAR! It was definitely worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Kotzebue, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2001
This is a very good recipe. I changed a few things to suit myself, but overall... very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
What a good recipe! I did cut the amounts of salt, pepper and garlic in half. I layered it with lasagna noodles and cheese - the "hot spinach lasagna" was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
This sauce was really good! I added chopped green pepper, more mushrooms and tomato juice. Next time I will use less spinach and less crushed red pepper; it was a little too spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
Great, very spicy though. I used 1 12 T of salt, oregano and basil and only 2 T of crushed red pepper. It was too spicy for my son but it made exellent chicken parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This was a great sauce that I will definitely be making again. I reduced the salt, oregano, and basil to 1 tbsp; the red pepper to 1/2 tbsp; and the tomato paste to 1 (12-oz) can. It was very thick in my slow cooker and I had to add a little water. I used this in place of the tomato sauce in the Tofu Parmigiana recipe on this website and also served it over penne pasta on the side. My husband and I were disappointed when we ran out of leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMILY052005

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Deliciouso...As a new slow cooker user vegetarian single guy this is a great recipe. Nice and chunky and fresh when you use fresh ingredients. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I loved this sauce! Partly because I love spinach. It's so easy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessieLynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I read the reviews and made some obvious changes. I agree 2 1/2 TABLESPOONS red pepper must be a typo. I didnt add any due to the 3 year old. I used one 12 oz can paste(what would I do with the leftover can?) I also added salt to taste at the end and sauted with just a little olive oil. I also added fresh mushrooms while sauteing. The carrots seemed an odd ingredient but I they basically disappear so I will do that again, anything to add more veg to the diet. Otherwise I stuck to the recipe. AND the result was the husband told me it was one of the best things I ever made !! and to share the recipe with my grown daughter, thats a first. Next time I will add a little red wine, some for me and some for the pot. OH YEA, I sauted some skinned chicken thighs lightly then tucked it under the sauce for about 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notyouraveragegranny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States