Slow Cooker Spinach Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Recipe states 2 1/2 Tablespoons crushed red pepper. I added ONLY 2 Tablespoons and this turned out so hot (spicy) that it burned our tongues. This is CLEARLY a mistake!!!!!Probably should have read 2 1/2 Teaspoons crush red pepper. Proceed with CAUTION!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Very easy! Great tasting! I reduced the red pepper flakes to 1 Tsp, but it was still on the hot side for us - I'll use a little less next time. Thick and hearty recipe for vegetarians.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Terrific. Four hours was a bit too long on high for my crock pot, so I will cook it a little less next time, but the taste was amazing. I served this over gnocchi, and it was a hit with my Sicilian husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
My husband hated this. I am removing it from my recipe box. It was too spicy for him and was unable to give it to my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This was a great sauce. It was too spicy for my family so I will cut back on the red pepper, but for me perfect. The sauce was thick and it went a long way because of the hotness I used very little on a serving. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grapevine, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I read the reviews and made some obvious changes. I agree 2 1/2 TABLESPOONS red pepper must be a typo. I didnt add any due to the 3 year old. I used one 12 oz can paste(what would I do with the leftover can?) I also added salt to taste at the end and sauted with just a little olive oil. I also added fresh mushrooms while sauteing. The carrots seemed an odd ingredient but I they basically disappear so I will do that again, anything to add more veg to the diet. Otherwise I stuck to the recipe. AND the result was the husband told me it was one of the best things I ever made !! and to share the recipe with my grown daughter, thats a first. Next time I will add a little red wine, some for me and some for the pot. OH YEA, I sauted some skinned chicken thighs lightly then tucked it under the sauce for about 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notyouraveragegranny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I loved this sauce! Partly because I love spinach. It's so easy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessieLynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Great idea and starter recipe. The spices and definitely red pepper need to be measured in teaspoons. I omitted the tomatoe paste and added tomatoe sauce. Added browned ground turkey and used as sauce for a lasagna. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oroville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
My family did not care for this recipe at all. It was extremely spicy, and I only used 1 teaspoon of the crushed red pepper flakes. Also, way too much tomato - I would cut the amount of tomato paste in half. Cooking this on "high" for 4 hours practically burned it and made the vegetables turn to mush. Reduce the setting on the crockpot to "medium" and add the spinach for the last two hours of cooking only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
this is a great recipe! people who don't like spices or a lot of salt should pay attention to the directions and go easy before you add all of the ingredients. after it cooks a bit season to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianna Moorer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Puckett, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States