Slow Cooker Spinach Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
I've made this sauce more times than I can count: as is, with fresh spinach, fresh sliced mushrooms, added meat balls, ground chuck, sausage, and this time cut the seasoning to teaspoons rather than tablespoons, so added a 10 ounce can of hot Ro*Tel and a 14.5 ounce can of tomatoe sauce and a cup of red wine. Love the aroma this creates while cooking so I actually put the slow cooker on low and cook for 12-15 hours, overnight, because it is the best way to create the most flavorful sauce. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I don't know if it's good or bad. The crushed red pepper (I only used a tbsp) made it so hot as to be uneatable. I'm going to try it again w/o any red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
The recipe, as is, would probably rate about 2-3 stars, but with the changes I made, it was delicious! I made it with the following tweaks (based on what other reviewers recommended): I sauteed the onions and garlic in 1 T of EVOO, throwing in the oregano and basil the last minute or so of cooking - and didn't add any more olive oil to the sauce. I used half the amount of oregano, basil, salt, and crushed red pepper the original recipe called for, and only 2-6oz. cans of tomato paste. I also threw in about 1 cup of shredded zucchini and served it over spaghetti squash. I got rave reviews from my wife and the 3 friends we had over for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I followed the recipes measurement but used all fresh organic ingredients I added a shallot, scallions, & three sweet peppers !! Truly the best marinara sauce I've ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misswillco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
My family loved this recipe!! When I made it I forgot it was for the crockpot so it simmered for a while. I thought it was very heavy on salt so I decreased that. I also sauteed the veggies (except spinach)before I added tomato. This was very thick so I added broth to it. Other than the minor changes it was amazing!! Definitely in out dinner rotations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Excellent if you are cutting down on meat. The red pepper was too much for me so If hot is not your thing, add way less or just not add any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNETTE154
Home Town: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sweetwater, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
We made it as to the directions with the only substitution being we used frozen chard instead of spinach. Cooked it in the slow cooker as directed. It was way, way too thick and the flavor was bitter to us. We used it for one meal and decided to throw out the very large amount of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Roloff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Using 2-1/2 TABLESPOONS of crushed red pepper made this dish uneatable. I believe it should be not more than 2 teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Too much salt. Too much oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I omitted the salt completely, and let people add it to their pasta if so inclined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States