Slow Cooker Spicy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Awesome & easy! I didn't have 4 hours so I cooked on high for a little over 2 hours, shredded it then cooked on low for another 20 minutes. Adults had on hoagies with melted moz on top. Kids loved with white rice on the side. Great for slow cooker Sunday :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Followed recipe exactly and put it in my small slow cooker. So easy and it makes a tasty, filling dinner. I shredded the chicken and put it in tortillas with lettuce, tomatoes, cheese, and sour cream.***Had about 1/2 left after first meal. Made a Chicken Taco Soup the next night by adding leftovers to 2 (14 oz.) cans diced tomatoes, one can blended, 1 can whole kernel corn, 1 can kidney beans, and 1-2 T. of Taco Seasoning I from this site. Delicious repurposed recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I flipped out a bit when I realized I had NO tomato sauce in my pantry. Whoops. I did have V-8 so I used that instead. I also threw in a handful of fresh cilantro. This smells AMAZING, a lot like the salsa chicken I make on a regular basis. I can only assume we'll love it just like we do salsa chicken. I plan on spooning the sauce over mexican rice and I've made homemade refried beans to go with it. Can't WAIT for dinner. NOTE: I was able to make this in my "Lil' Dipper" crockpot which saved me on counter space and it cooked it perfectly. Cutting the breasts each in half filled up the crockpot 3/4's of the way through so I didn't need to worry about burning my ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This is very good! The chicken is not dry and just falls apart! I made burritos out of it with green chile and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Extremely easy and flavorful! I used hot salsa since that was all I had and it was quite spicy, but great... I put the meat in tacos with shreaded cheddar and sour cream. My husband wants it on rotation :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I completely forgot the red onion but this still tasted great. I added a few dashes of red pepper sauce too. Served over rice but husband suggested to serve in fajitas next time. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This was pretty good. This is the first time I have cooked in a crock pot. My crock pot doesn't have a low + 4 or 5 hr option, (it has a "high 4 or 6 hour" setting,) so I set it at "low 8 hrs", and took it out after 4.5 hours. I live at a high altitude (7000ft+), so things usually take a little longer to cook, but I guess this didn't need extra time. The chicken tasted a little dry and overall it was a bit too spicy for my tastes, so next time I think I'll try cooking it for 4 hrs and try putting in only 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper. I ate mine on a tortilla with cheddar cheese and some sour cream. I think it would taste good on a tortilla with plain white rice (that the sauce leftover in the crock pot would flavor) and maybe some bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TomatoKate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I followed this recipe as posted, except I only had white onion and 2 chicken breasts. To make up for the missing breast, I added a can of black beans. I put the chicken in the crock pot, then poured the beans around it, then layered the remaining ingredients, as instructed. I cooked it on low for a little over 4 hours. It smelled wonderful when I got home! When I took the lid off, I was a little worried that it wasn't going to work well for taco filling (in soft corn tortillas) because it looked a little watery, but when I used the forks to shred the chicken, it absorbed the excess liquid. It made for excellent tacos! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Excellent. Made this for the first time today and served it as both the meat in tacos for the kids (5&9) and on Mexican salads for the adults. It was a universal hit. We'll try the chipotle pepper idea next time to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This was so good! That even my husband who doesn't even care for chicken loved it. I was looking for a recipe that was for chicken legs when I can across this recipe, and I liked the ingredients. I did however change some things to what I had, and because I was in a hurry. I used dehydrated onions and garlic, and used !/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper instead of chili powder. I found out my cayenne pepper is really, really hot, and that is why I used only half the amount. So I can't wait to try this again with chicken breast like it calls for. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States