Slow Cooker Spicy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Awesome & easy! I didn't have 4 hours so I cooked on high for a little over 2 hours, shredded it then cooked on low for another 20 minutes. Adults had on hoagies with melted moz on top. Kids loved with white rice on the side. Great for slow cooker Sunday :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This was so good! That even my husband who doesn't even care for chicken loved it. I was looking for a recipe that was for chicken legs when I can across this recipe, and I liked the ingredients. I did however change some things to what I had, and because I was in a hurry. I used dehydrated onions and garlic, and used !/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper instead of chili powder. I found out my cayenne pepper is really, really hot, and that is why I used only half the amount. So I can't wait to try this again with chicken breast like it calls for. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This was pretty good. This is the first time I have cooked in a crock pot. My crock pot doesn't have a low + 4 or 5 hr option, (it has a "high 4 or 6 hour" setting,) so I set it at "low 8 hrs", and took it out after 4.5 hours. I live at a high altitude (7000ft+), so things usually take a little longer to cook, but I guess this didn't need extra time. The chicken tasted a little dry and overall it was a bit too spicy for my tastes, so next time I think I'll try cooking it for 4 hrs and try putting in only 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper. I ate mine on a tortilla with cheddar cheese and some sour cream. I think it would taste good on a tortilla with plain white rice (that the sauce leftover in the crock pot would flavor) and maybe some bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TomatoKate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I completely forgot the red onion but this still tasted great. I added a few dashes of red pepper sauce too. Served over rice but husband suggested to serve in fajitas next time. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This is very good! The chicken is not dry and just falls apart! I made burritos out of it with green chile and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Excellent. Made this for the first time today and served it as both the meat in tacos for the kids (5&9) and on Mexican salads for the adults. It was a universal hit. We'll try the chipotle pepper idea next time to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This was so tender! I cooked it on high for a few hrs then turned it to low for a few more. It had a great flavor and was not too spicy. The kids ate it with no complaints. I served it over brown rice with a side of broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Extremely easy and flavorful! I used hot salsa since that was all I had and it was quite spicy, but great... I put the meat in tacos with shreaded cheddar and sour cream. My husband wants it on rotation :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Recipe was okay. Make a lot of food, but was lacking in flavor..maybe if the sauce was thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hot Springs, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I didn't have salsa so added Rotel tomatoes instead. Made everything else as written. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States