Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
There's a thin line between watery & brothy. I like my black-eyes brothy (thick). I soaked mine for 6 hrs. Cooked them on high 6 1/2 hours in the crock-pot. Used 1 can of chicken broth in place of the cube (don't like cubes). Walked out to my garden for 3 different kinds of hot peppers. Left out the salt, I don't believe you need it with both ham & bacon. Hubbie said "Best beans ever".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
345 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Since our 7&9-yr olds won't eat spicy foods, I onitted the cayenne and jalapenos (and the bell peppers 'cause we're not fond of them). I slow-cooked the peas the first 3 hours on High and the next 2 hours on Low, with a hambone from a honeybaked ham from Christmas. Due to other reviews I only added 5 cups water and the mixture was still soupy. However, the results are WONDERFUL and the honebaked hambone added a slightly sweet flavor, but not too sweet, just enough to make you come back for more. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Terrific ! Had this w/ baby-back ribs w/ company the other night - BIG HIT !! Will make again and share this recipe. Thx u !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Mills River, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Followed this exact recipe except used 5 cups water and 1 can chicken broth (instead of the bouillon cube) Absolutely delicious! We love spicy food, and this was the perfect amount of spice! Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
EXACTLY what I was looking for. Nice and spicy and just great overall flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This is great! We loved it. Goes good with corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I was amazed at how well this recipe came out my guest enjoyed it. I changed the recipe a bit added meats bacon, ham hock, chicken, and spicey sauage. A little green & red peppers, red onion and garlic. It was very flavorful and delicious. Served it on New Years Day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vonda roark-martinez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Very delicious. I substituted the ham with 1 lb. of sausage just because that is what we prefer. Oh, I have used 4 cups chicken stock, 2 cups water instead of the water and bouillon cube - next time, would use only 3 cups stock. 4 hours in the slow cooker was plenty! UPDATE: Made with pink eye peas, 2 bell peppers, 2 banana peppers, cherry tomatoes, sausage instead of ham, bacon, okra, and used only 4 cups water. Cooked all but the peas and okra for about an hour in a large pot, then added the okra and peas for the last 30 minutes, simmering on low. Added a small cornstarch slurry at the end to thicken. Delicious, and quicker. Like gumbo without the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This was very scrumptious; however, I used 2 cans of chicken broth and turkey necks instead of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Finally, yummy black-eyed peas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Farwell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States