Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
My husband raved about these. I used a few left over ribs from the end that cooked alittle much. No bacon but alittle grease =). Tendered them up nice. I'll never boil ribs again yuck =( Everything else was to recipe and I think black-eyed peas will be more than a new years dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
These had a ton of flavor! I thought they would have a mexican flavor with cumin, cayenne & peppers but it didn't at all, those spices just added depth. I used 1/3 small can green chilis instead of jalapeno. I didn't have to soak the peas which was great, they were plenty tender. I baked a ham earlier this week so I used that bone with meat attached. I used every tip suggested by "Ti" (top review) minus the kale, and will def. make these again! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Fat~Dog~Lane*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Nevada, USA
Living In: Spanish Springs, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This is a great recipe! I have made this several times and it is always a winner! My friends beg me to make this for every gathering! There is no need to change anything, but sometimes I add a little more cayenne or jalepeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corbettland
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
made as written.....did not like at all. maybe i just dont like black eyed peas? it just tasted like eating beans,....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New London, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
agreed; soaking these peas overnight is not necessary, as they cook up nice and soft during the 8 hours. I turn the crock pot on high the first hour, then down to low for another 6-8 hours (or however long you're gone for the day; they'll keep just fine!). I would recommend chicken stock rather than water and bouillon cubes. Also, I used smoked turkey drumsticks or wings to flavor mine, rather than ham; it's just lower in fat and still gives amazing flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
These are the best black eyed peas ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Turner Tucker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I had a leftover pork shoulder bone and scraps that I added for flavor. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camp Lester, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Easy recipe that tastes great. We weren't fond of BEP's but we had always had canned. Someone told me that they were better if they were made from dried beans, so I wanted to give it a try. I picked this recipe because we like spicy foods. It was a hit, even the leftovers were devoured a couple days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Very tasty soup. Made 3 weeks ago. My other half is not especially fond of black eyed peas but he loved this and asked me this morning when was I going to make it again. He also told several of our friends how much he liked it. So I am making it today. The only change I made was I only used about half of the called for amount of cumin because I don't love the flavor of it. A little cumin goes a long way for my liking. I wish I could rate it a 4 &1/2 instead of 4. I try to save 5 stars for stuff that absolutely BLOWS me away. I will be making this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
The only thing I did differently was to add a can of corn. The left overs are just as good the next day! I'll definately make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 191-200 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States