Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This was a wonderful meal! Being from the south, I used smoked sausage and tasso, adding a bit more seasoning. I always brown the meat and drain any grease before adding it to the slow cooker. About an hour before done, I use a potato masher- to make the peas and gravy a bit more creamy. This recipe works for dried field peas and baby limas, too! I do use a bit less water than called for. Potatoes, added about an hour or so before done, are a good addition. VERY YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
A little too much onion for my taste and I like onion. Ended up diluting the batch of dried peas with a can of peas which helped tone down the onion a little. Otherwise, I followed the recipe and it came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. J. Nequette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I loved this and so did my husband!! It was delicious, although I must say I made a few changes. We are both in graduate school and on the tightest budget of our lives, so I tried to make it cheap, but full of flavor, as well as just a few taste preferences. First of all, I noticed others said they don't soak black eyed peas, which I didn't know, but at the same time I do like a little broth in my soup and I was making this to be like a soup, so I rinsed the peas and then soaked them for maybe an hour or 2 max. I don't like the flavor of regular bouillon cubes at all, I am hooked on "Better than Bouillon", so I just added a spoonful of that instead. Also, I left out the diced ham due to budgeting reasons and just used the bacon and it was still great! I didn't miss the ham at all. Also, to add flavor, I cut up the strips of bacon and browned them in a skillet, then removed the bacon and added the onion, garlic, bell pepper, and jalapeno to the bacon drippings and let them sweat and soften to improved the flavors before putting it all in the crock pot. I dumped it all in, added a little extra cayenne (my husband likes things spicy) and I also added a can of rotel tomatoes and green chiles. Anyways, this was delicious, thanks for the great recipe, it will be making a reappearance in our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This is super good! I used chicken broth instead of water and frozen field peas with green beans. I will be making this over & over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Awesome! I followed this recipe exactly as written and it turned out great. Not too spicy either, just a little kick to it....the 2, 4, and 6 year olds gobbled it right up! This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This recipe was amazing! I used a ham hock instead of bacon and ham, added a little green bell pepper and used small sweet peppers in place of the red bell pepper (what I had on hand), used salt-free Tony's and a little Tabasco. I loved it, will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This dish now has a heavy rotation at my house, my boyfriend gets a sparkle in his eye every time I tell him I am planning on making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darcheartselton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton City, Washington, USA
Living In: University Place, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
very nice..i made a few changes. instead of just throwing everything in the pot, I fried up the bacon with onions, hamhock, celery, peppers and all of the seasonings..then once browned up, I added the chicken stock (3 cups), let that simmer for 20 mins ..placed the beans in a crock pot, poured the mixture over the beans and set on high for 3 hours. it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Like everyone else, we loved these. I modified the recipe by using 4 cups of low-sodium chicken broth and 1 cup of water. I did not add the bacon, but used a little more ham than called for. I think the next time I will decrease the cayenne to a quarter tsp. as I'm not a big fan of cayenne flavor. I would maybe add a little more jalapeno to make up the difference. I cooked them for a full 8 hours and they were nice and tender, tasty and filling. These will definitely go in a regular rotation in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This was delicious and my boyfriend raved about it. He said he woke up the next morning thinking about it :) We will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States