Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Excellent recipe. I soaked my beans overnight, browned my bacon, sauted the onions and used ham hocks instead of chopped ham. Served with jalapeno corn bread found on this site and it was an amazing meal!! This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was lip-smacking good! My mother's beans were never this delicious and she can cook! My family was eating out of the slow cooker before I can serve them. I put them on shortly after the ball dropped on New Year's on low and when I woke up my hubby was telling me how good the beans were. My teen boys were also in the slow cooker "taste testing". I didn't even get a chance to taste and tweak it before everyone else tasted. I added a can of Rotel as per another reviewer and another jalapeno. Other than that, stayed true to the recipe. DELICIOUSO!!! Another staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Loved this! Left out the bacon. Used leftover ham bone and all chicken broth. Cooked 5 hours on high. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Delicious!! They were supposed to be for dinner tonight, but I am already eating them. The house smelled amazing while they were cooking. Just the right amount of heat. The only thing I may do differently next time is to render the bacon seperately, and maybe put them on top when serving. Overall, this is really good, much better than the usual black eyed peas I have made for New Years. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton Park, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was incredible! I made it for New Year's Eve and everyone loved it! I wouldn't change a thing, other than it cooked faster than I thought. That is probably my slow cooker, however. I will cook them for 4 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRYS7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Great recipe. To give it an extra kick I took this recipe, upped it to 8 cups of water, 12oz of ham, 2 boullion cubes and then doubled all the spices. Just as a final customization I added a little fresh Cilantro. This got great reviews from friends at my party including from a couple of good ol' Southern Boys
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grays, Essex, England, U.K.
Living In: Moseley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I work 3rd shift. I made this recipe and brought it in for my co-workers on New Years. I returned home that morning with an empty bowl. This will be a New Years tradition in my family from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Someone who works at my local grocery store told me that whenever I make BEPs to add in a can of unsweetened coconut milk and I won't be sorry. I thought this sounded kinda crazy but I did it with this recipe and I was blown away. I pretty much stayed true to the recipe except that I added a box of free range chicken broth with the coconut milk and 1 cup of water instead of what was called for in this recipe (water + bouillon). Since I had one pablano pepper and not the jalopeno, I used that instead. I also substituted 2 smoked ham hocks instead of the bacon because that ends up giving you less fat and the incredible smoked taste that is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Meadows Place, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Added Emerils Slap Ya Mamma spice, Store didn't have japenos so did another pepper, used 12 oz dized ham, powdered garlic, but all in all it really turned out outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
The beans are great. I did make some changes. I soaked the beans overnight and reduced the liquid to 1 qt low salt chicken broth. I used 2 onions, 1 red pepper, 1 orange pepper and 3 ribs of celery all diced. I used about 1 lb of chorizo sausage, browned well. I then used the same pot to sautee the veggies. I also used more garlic. I increased the cumin to 2.5 tsp and instead of cayenne I used chipolte powder. I did not add the jalepeno. I also did not need to add salt. I put everything in a slow cooker and let it go overnight on low. I know I made a lot of changes, but the basic recipe is the same and I recomend it highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Oneonta, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States