Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This came out very well. I realized at the last second my ham had gone bad so I used all bacon and that worked just fine. Also, I did not seed the jalapeno and still found that the beans needed hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EACline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Whoa...this turned out really good with only minor changes. Chicken stock for water and bouillon, only had green pepper on hand, omitted jalapeno. Use less cayenne if you like less spicy. This gets better with each passing day! A definite winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoseMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
First off I have to say when I told my family we were going to have this new years day they all turned up their noses. I told them they were going to eat it as we need all the good luck we could get. Needless to say they all liked this recipe and said we could have it again next year so I guess it passed inspection YEAAAA! the ONLY change I made was to cook it for 6 hrs. on low and with 5 cups of chicken broth as I didn't have chicken bouillon cubes. This really was good served with corn bread. I will make this yearly from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Instead of the spices I subbed about 2-3 tsp. Tony"s Cajun Seasoning plus a can of Rotel tomatoes. I also used chicken stock instead of water and bouillon, and no bacon, jalapeno or bell pepper. Hard to mess this one up really. Before serving I mashed some of the peas with a potato masher while still in the crockpot to thicken it up a bit. Served over rice for New Year's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Smelled great cooking all New Year's Day, and much easier than babysitting a pot of beans and a pot of greens on the stove for an hour. Peppers gave it a nice kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Made it exactly as recipe called for. I don't think it needs anything else, the ham and bacon are perfect and add just the right amount of flavor so you still get the flavor of the Black-Eyed Peas. Gave some to my parents and they both said they are the best Black Eyed-Peas they ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I wanted to make something different this New Year's day and it turned out great. This is a keeper - will definitely make more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Awesome flavor with a few changes of my own and what others suggested: (1) omit salt, broth and meats add plenty of salt; (2) I used vegetable base in place of chicken cube and a tsp. of Vigo ham flavoring; (3) I substituted chipolte powder for cayenne for a smoky heat; (4) I added 2 chopped carrots and 1 stalk chopped celery for extra vegetables and fiber without much change to taste but pretty colors. (5) 1-2 hrs before finishing the 8 hrs on low in a crock pot, I added 1 bunch chopped collard greens; (5)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I never even thought to cook black-eyed peas in the slow cooker until I found this recipe last year. For that alone, it gets 5 stars! I don't add all the spices because I don't think they're necessary (jmo).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I forgot the red bell pepper but it was still delicious! It turned out more like soup, and was wonderful. I didn't use a jalapeno since Iwas also serving my 2-yr old--instead I used 1/2 a yellow chili and 1/2 and anaheim chili. It gave a nice kick but not overly spicy. The recipe says "salt to taste" so I guessed and used 1 tsp of salt and it was perfect to me. Also fyi, I did not pre-soak the beans and they were perfectly cooked after 6 hours on low. Actually my husband couldn't wait and was eating them at 5 1/2 hrs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States