Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Have used this recipe for the last few years in our New Year's celebrations. This recipe is perfectly seasoned, no changes needed and it's so easy! I think the jalapeno makes the dish. The crockpot is a perfect way to cook this recipe, no pre-soak needed on the peas and 6-8 hours cooking is about right. Used up leftover holiday ham and subsititute salt pork for bacon. We like it served with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GULFTRADE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moses Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I ended up doubling the recipe and used smoked beef sausage and turkey bacon instead of the ham and bacon. We had a party at our house, so I started this about 5pm New Years Eve, and by about midnight it was done. By 1am, there wasn't but a couple spoonfuls left. Everyone loved it! Even the ones who said they didn't like Black-Eyed Peas! They all said they'd be back next year for another bowl-ful. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I enjoy spice, but this was a little too spicy for my taste. I will add less cayene pepper next time. Used a can of chicken broth in place of bouillon and decreased the water by 2 cups. I didn't soak my beans first and they were perfect. I sauteed the bacon and all veggies first. Added a few hanfuls of fresh spinach in the last 30 mins of cooking. Served with warm cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Made this for New Years Day. Served it with hot, buttered, corn bread. Wonderful! I took other reviewers advice & replaced the water & bouillon with chicken broth. I used a ham hock, added 1 can of Rotel & omitted the cumin. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
First time making black eyed peas for my family! Made this dish because I love crock pot cooking. Followed the recipe exactly and it was wonderful and we all enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This came out very well. I realized at the last second my ham had gone bad so I used all bacon and that worked just fine. Also, I did not seed the jalapeno and still found that the beans needed hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EACline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Whoa...this turned out really good with only minor changes. Chicken stock for water and bouillon, only had green pepper on hand, omitted jalapeno. Use less cayenne if you like less spicy. This gets better with each passing day! A definite winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoseMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
First off I have to say when I told my family we were going to have this new years day they all turned up their noses. I told them they were going to eat it as we need all the good luck we could get. Needless to say they all liked this recipe and said we could have it again next year so I guess it passed inspection YEAAAA! the ONLY change I made was to cook it for 6 hrs. on low and with 5 cups of chicken broth as I didn't have chicken bouillon cubes. This really was good served with corn bread. I will make this yearly from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Instead of the spices I subbed about 2-3 tsp. Tony"s Cajun Seasoning plus a can of Rotel tomatoes. I also used chicken stock instead of water and bouillon, and no bacon, jalapeno or bell pepper. Hard to mess this one up really. Before serving I mashed some of the peas with a potato masher while still in the crockpot to thicken it up a bit. Served over rice for New Year's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Smelled great cooking all New Year's Day, and much easier than babysitting a pot of beans and a pot of greens on the stove for an hour. Peppers gave it a nice kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States