Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Definitely a winner. I modified it a little and added a tablespoon of roux...what can I say? I'm from New Orleans. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACKEDTIGHT
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I made this tonight & wow, this was yummy. I simmered it for 8 hours. I also was out of cayenne pepper and instead used a pinch of red pepper flakes and probably used about 1tsp of salt. Very yummy. This is the first time I made it and I was impressed. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Very good. I modified it quite a bit. My mother has cancer, so cannot tolerate anything spicy. I eliminated the jalapeno and cayenne then used only 1/2 tsp of pepper. I didn't have any ham, but I used pork neck bones. Because they're bones and bones make broth, I eliminated the broth and used plain water. Finally I put in a can of diced tomatoes and decreased the water to 5 1/2 cups and then followed everything else. Perfect! My family ate it all and loved every bit of it. For those who wanted spice, they used Frank's red hot sauce and said that was amazing. This is a keeper and I'll use neck bones from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagnoliaSouth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This was phenomenal! Thanks to Ti for the reminder that black-eyed peas don't need soaking; I'm making another batch now. I used what meat I had, being turkey links & leftover bacon, 3X the garlic & cumin, a voila! I thought I had nothing for dinner & was pleasantly surprised. Very simple, not gourmet, but a humble 'Comfort Food' meal I'll memorize for anytime. Great for hiking/camping w/dried goods, too. For these, I give 5 Stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luloo
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
So fabulous! I had made this for New Years Day and decided to add my collard greens to it. Not only did it taste fabulous, but the presentation was amazing. I served it with fresh hot cornbread! Yum. I also did not soak the black eyed peas and everything was fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
My family really enjoyed this, but then we love black-eyed peas. I used chicken broth rather than bouillon. Will be making this again...easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
YUUUMMMY ! Easy to do, little time spent on prep. Nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Great flavour, a tad runny, so I took 1/2 cup of the cooked Peas and mashed them. Added back to the pot to cook for the last hour - thickened up the peas to a nice consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I love this recipe!! Made it just as written and it was awesome! Since I have made many times and have made some changes, broth instead of water and bouillon. And I add greens to it during the last hour or so of cooking on New Years for some extra good luck!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I thought this was very good and easy. I was going to add carrots and celery but it didn't need it. I also didn't soak my beans and they ended up being the perfect consistency. A great recipe that doesn't require too many ingredients but still has plenty of flavor. My only suggestion would be to add something green to freshen it up a bit. If I would have had kale or mustard greens I would have added them. I ended up adding cilantro and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States