Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Wow! I grew up on Black Eyed Peas as my mom is from Arkansas. I was never really fond of that dirt kind of taste. This is with out a doubt the best recipe I have ever tried. I did add some collard greens in the last hour, only took 5 hours on low in my slow cooker and as I do in all veggies because of my southern roots, added just a touch of sugar! Incredible!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HallieCat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
DElicious as is. I had to put mine in pressure cooker though, because the beans were still hard. Serve with cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zoltman
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
A 5 star recipe. I made the following deviations. First, I omitted the ham and bacon from the recipe. Instead, I used one large smoked turkey drum stick. The drum sticks are sold in pairs in the meat section at a grocery store for about $6 for 2 large drum sticks. The smoked turkey drum stick is a healthier alternative and still has as much flavor as ham and bacon. The second drum stick was placed in the freezer and will be used for a future soup dish. I also had some carrots in the refrigerator which I pealed, diced and added to the mix. Secondly, I added the diced bell peppers later on. Unlike black eyed peas, the bell peppers are more tender and can get mushy if cooked too long. Third, I did not pre-soak my black eyed peas. Not necessary due to the slow cooking process. Fourth, I added twice the amount of minced garlic. Fifth, no salt was added. Sixth, I added raw shredded kale, diced green onions, a small amount of lime zest and grated Parmesan cheese to each serving bowl. The reason for the raw kale is to have the combination of soft cooked peas, carrots and peppers with the crunchy kale. To make the shredded kale, I removed the large thick spines from the plant and then placed the remainder on a cutting board. Then I took a sharp knife and sliced the kale as thin as possible. Although I made a number of substitution and alterations to the original recipe, the result is a much more healthier and tastier recipe. My wife loved, loved, loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoltman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Maybe I cooked the beans incorrectly. I followed the recipe except for the jalapeno and red bell peppers and it was just too bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Definitely a winner. I modified it a little and added a tablespoon of roux...what can I say? I'm from New Orleans. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACKEDTIGHT
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I made this tonight & wow, this was yummy. I simmered it for 8 hours. I also was out of cayenne pepper and instead used a pinch of red pepper flakes and probably used about 1tsp of salt. Very yummy. This is the first time I made it and I was impressed. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Very good. I modified it quite a bit. My mother has cancer, so cannot tolerate anything spicy. I eliminated the jalapeno and cayenne then used only 1/2 tsp of pepper. I didn't have any ham, but I used pork neck bones. Because they're bones and bones make broth, I eliminated the broth and used plain water. Finally I put in a can of diced tomatoes and decreased the water to 5 1/2 cups and then followed everything else. Perfect! My family ate it all and loved every bit of it. For those who wanted spice, they used Frank's red hot sauce and said that was amazing. This is a keeper and I'll use neck bones from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This was phenomenal! Thanks to Ti for the reminder that black-eyed peas don't need soaking; I'm making another batch now. I used what meat I had, being turkey links & leftover bacon, 3X the garlic & cumin, a voila! I thought I had nothing for dinner & was pleasantly surprised. Very simple, not gourmet, but a humble 'Comfort Food' meal I'll memorize for anytime. Great for hiking/camping w/dried goods, too. For these, I give 5 Stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luloo
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
So fabulous! I had made this for New Years Day and decided to add my collard greens to it. Not only did it taste fabulous, but the presentation was amazing. I served it with fresh hot cornbread! Yum. I also did not soak the black eyed peas and everything was fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
My family really enjoyed this, but then we love black-eyed peas. I used chicken broth rather than bouillon. Will be making this again...easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States