Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I left out the spicy stuff and just used neck bones instead of ham.. added 5 slices of bacon and left everything else the same and everyone loved these. I'm not a fan of black eyed peas so I'll have to take their word for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE5014

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I made these leaving out the jalapeon pepper and the red bell pepper and it was excellent. Every last drop was eaten. Will be making again on New Year's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
tastes great but has way to much sodium. subsitute low sodium stock for bouillon cube and water and use low sodium bacon and this becomes a delicious, nutrious, heart healthy dish anyone from 6 to 60 can enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Never been a fan of black-eyed peas, but since I was having a NYE party last year, felt obligated to make some. Found this recipe and it was as awesome as it looked. Addded some cilantro since I had some left over for a little extra kick. Guests enjoyed it- very little ended up in the trash. Getting ready to make some more this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Wow! I grew up on Black Eyed Peas as my mom is from Arkansas. I was never really fond of that dirt kind of taste. This is with out a doubt the best recipe I have ever tried. I did add some collard greens in the last hour, only took 5 hours on low in my slow cooker and as I do in all veggies because of my southern roots, added just a touch of sugar! Incredible!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hallie Alameda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
DElicious as is. I had to put mine in pressure cooker though, because the beans were still hard. Serve with cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zoltman
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
A 5 star recipe. I made the following deviations. First, I omitted the ham and bacon from the recipe. Instead, I used one large smoked turkey drum stick. The drum sticks are sold in pairs in the meat section at a grocery store for about $6 for 2 large drum sticks. The smoked turkey drum stick is a healthier alternative and still has as much flavor as ham and bacon. The second drum stick was placed in the freezer and will be used for a future soup dish. I also had some carrots in the refrigerator which I pealed, diced and added to the mix. Secondly, I added the diced bell peppers later on. Unlike black eyed peas, the bell peppers are more tender and can get mushy if cooked too long. Third, I did not pre-soak my black eyed peas. Not necessary due to the slow cooking process. Fourth, I added twice the amount of minced garlic. Fifth, no salt was added. Sixth, I added raw shredded kale, diced green onions, a small amount of lime zest and grated Parmesan cheese to each serving bowl. The reason for the raw kale is to have the combination of soft cooked peas, carrots and peppers with the crunchy kale. To make the shredded kale, I removed the large thick spines from the plant and then placed the remainder on a cutting board. Then I took a sharp knife and sliced the kale as thin as possible. Although I made a number of substitution and alterations to the original recipe, the result is a much more healthier and tastier recipe. My wife loved, loved, loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoltman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Maybe I cooked the beans incorrectly. I followed the recipe except for the jalapeno and red bell peppers and it was just too bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Definitely a winner. I modified it a little and added a tablespoon of roux...what can I say? I'm from New Orleans. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACKEDTIGHT
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I made this tonight & wow, this was yummy. I simmered it for 8 hours. I also was out of cayenne pepper and instead used a pinch of red pepper flakes and probably used about 1tsp of salt. Very yummy. This is the first time I made it and I was impressed. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States