Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
So Good!! We had this today for New Years... I used five cups of Chicken broth (no water or Bouillon) I also just used ham and skipped the bacon. Very, very good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindsay
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Delicious! I added an extra bouillon cube and didn't actually have ham so doubled the bacon. I also added a few handfuls of fresh spinach 30 minutes before it was done. I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is a great recipe,I cooked two batches,since I liked the first one so much,I kept that one for us,and took the second one to work for NewYears Eve potluck,it was a hit. I think for Dietary purposes,I will try to make it next time with Turkey Bacon and smoked Turkey Thighs.Just for New Years Eve I wanted to make it in the original version for Good Luck :) It was Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
First time I've cooked with dried peas. Usually open a can. This was a great recipe. I ommitted the pepper but the seasonings were dead on. Didn't soak beans and cooked in crock pot on high about 4 hours. Boiled peas on stove to thicken the broth. Loved it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nonavr66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Great recipe as is...wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
OUTSTANDING!!! This was the BEST tasting "beans" I've ever eaten, with just a touch of spicy! I made it for New Years Day (for good luck & wealth) - made a 1/2 batch. I've already eaten 3 small bowls. I made this exactly as the recipe said and would not change a thing. Mmmmm.... going for another bowl!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norco, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Made exactly as recipe calls, and it's really good! It is on the spicy side, but that could easily be adjusted. Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bethanncarder
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Fantastic recipe that I totally recommend for anyone. I used chicken broth instead of the cube out of preference. I also left out the jalapeno chile (for my son's mild taste buds) and the ham (I didn't have any so I just added a bit more bacon). Everyone loved it. Going to make again as a main course rather than side along with some cornbread. Happy New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Great recipe for black eyed peas and one of the main reasons I love them is there is NO need to soak them. Gathering the ingredients, I realized I didn't have everything on hand and as I couldn't face going to the grocery store on New Years Eve (what a madhouse) I improvised..... I subbed low sodium chicken broth for the water and bouillon; no jalapeno, so I increased the cayenne to 1 tsp; no onion, so I subbed one packet of Lipton onion soup mixture; and no ham, so I subbed two country pork ribs, along with the bacon. Added an extra clove of garlic, 1 tsp of liquid smoke and increased the cumin to 2 tsps. Shredded the pork into the peas when finished.... Delicious!!! Husband who dislikes black eyed peas had two bowls! I realize I changed the recipe to fit what I had on hand, but I can only imagine the original was excellent as well. Definitely 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this recipe for a New Years Eve party and it was a big hit! I did make several changes to accomodate midwestern palates not accustomed to spice and friends who don't eat pork as well as adding collard greens for even more New Years luck (beans for coins, greens for bills I read) and carrots (personal preference) so I can't really rate original recipe but we really liked this version: Recipe alterations: I used 2 c water & 4 c veg broth, omitted boullion & cayenne, used smoked turkey for ham and turkey bacon instead of regular, omitted salt, used 1/2 gr bell pepper in place of jalapeno, added 4-5 carrots, and added 1 bunch collard greens 1-2 hrs before completion. I did soak beans overnight in 2 c water, then rinsed them and added just the 4 cups veg broth before starting the crockpot in the a.m. Cooked on low for first 6 hr but beans still hard so high for last 2 hr. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutchinson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States