Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
So, you need to try this. Don't soak the beans overnight. Black eyed peas don't need to soak. I used pork blade steaks (2) and one piece of bacon. I browned the pork with salt and pepper. I added the meat to my six cups of chicken stock/water mix. I sauteed the onion (2 small ones), 2 carrots, tons of garlic, the red pepper, and jalapeño, cumin and cayenne in the oil from the pork. I added that to the broth. Then, I put in a tablespoon or so of honey! I put in the black eyed peas and cooked on high for one hour and then turned it down to low and cooked another 5 1/2 or so. The last hour, I added an entire bunch of coarsely chopped kale. Served it with cornbread and honey to top the cornbread. Normally, I like cornbread crumbled in my beans; however, this was such a good soup, I didn't want to change the flavor with the sweetness of the bread. So, I ate it on the side. Oh, this dish was heaven! I froze the leftovers for when our baby arrives in about 4 weeks.......but I really struggled with that! I wanted to eat it for lunch and dinner tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
500 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I absolutely loved this meal. At the start of the year I found out I have extremely high cholesterol and came seeking healthy foods. I switched out the four strips of bacon for a couple of extra slices of lean ham (same weight but with the big clobs of fat) otherwise I left the recipe alone. It deserves to be cooked slowly over 6-8 hours rather than being cooked on high. Comments on the quantity of fluid seem overblown, probably because soaking the quantity of beans required for this recipe actually takes more than the a cup of water ... if you do pre-soak the beans you'll need to remove quite a bit more, however over 6-8 hours this isn't an issue. I'm not sure why anybody would pre-soak these beans in water, when you can have them soften up nicely in the flavorful slow cooker. I divide this into about six meals and throw it over fresh greens. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
348 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
There's a thin line between watery & brothy. I like my black-eyes brothy (thick). I soaked mine for 6 hrs. Cooked them on high 6 1/2 hours in the crock-pot. Used 1 can of chicken broth in place of the cube (don't like cubes). Walked out to my garden for 3 different kinds of hot peppers. Left out the salt, I don't believe you need it with both ham & bacon. Hubbie said "Best beans ever".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
348 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Good recipe, but needs some fixing: use chicken broth (low sodium) instead of bouillon which is salty. Don't add more salt because the ham and bacon is already salty enough. Six cups water (broth) is too much for my slow cooker, but might be enough for others. I have found not all slow cookers are created equal so know your slow cooker before adding the liquid. Personally, I think the oval shaped slow cookers can take a bit more water than those that are crock pot shaped. The crock pot shaped ones stand taller. The oval ones tend to absorb liquid more than the tall ones. All of that said, it is a delicious recipe. Great for the traditional dish of black eyed peas served on New Years Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Great recipe for black eyed peas and one of the main reasons I love them is there is NO need to soak them. Gathering the ingredients, I realized I didn't have everything on hand and as I couldn't face going to the grocery store on New Years Eve (what a madhouse) I improvised..... I subbed low sodium chicken broth for the water and bouillon; no jalapeno, so I increased the cayenne to 1 tsp; no onion, so I subbed one packet of Lipton onion soup mixture; and no ham, so I subbed two country pork ribs, along with the bacon. Added an extra clove of garlic, 1 tsp of liquid smoke and increased the cumin to 2 tsps. Shredded the pork into the peas when finished.... Delicious!!! Husband who dislikes black eyed peas had two bowls! I realize I changed the recipe to fit what I had on hand, but I can only imagine the original was excellent as well. Definitely 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Since our 7&9-yr olds won't eat spicy foods, I onitted the cayenne and jalapenos (and the bell peppers 'cause we're not fond of them). I slow-cooked the peas the first 3 hours on High and the next 2 hours on Low, with a hambone from a honeybaked ham from Christmas. Due to other reviews I only added 5 cups water and the mixture was still soupy. However, the results are WONDERFUL and the honebaked hambone added a slightly sweet flavor, but not too sweet, just enough to make you come back for more. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I followed the recipe to the tee. It cooked all day and turned out great. He said it got better and better as it sat. WILL be making this one again, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Bresler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This was great! I used turkey bacon and a can of Rotel Extra Hot! Threw in a sprinkling of Tony Chachere's More Spice and let it go!! Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This will be the 2nd New Years Day I have made this recipe and have also prepared it many times for our backyard BBQ's. I also use chicken broth and not so much liquid. Black eyes don't absorb that much. Really tasty recipe. Going to go great with my grilled chickens and cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Princess Tanya
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Had I felt led to give this recipe a lower rating I would not have posted since I feel it is unfair to give a low rating when you do not follow the recipe as posted. However, this was a hit and even though I made a few adjustments I am still posting a solid 4 star rating. What caught my attention was the slow cooker cooking method and not so much the spiciness. Not being a fan of spicy, I omitted the jalapeno (and the red pepper). I also used canned chicken broth instead of the bouillon. Otherwise I stuck with the recipe and the preparation/cooking method and thought the peas turned out great! The addition of the ham and cumin really gave a great smoky flavor. These were a wonderful addition to my New Years Day meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States