Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Terrific ! Had this w/ baby-back ribs w/ company the other night - BIG HIT !! Will make again and share this recipe. Thx u !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Mills River, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
There's a thin line between watery & brothy. I like my black-eyes brothy (thick). I soaked mine for 6 hrs. Cooked them on high 6 1/2 hours in the crock-pot. Used 1 can of chicken broth in place of the cube (don't like cubes). Walked out to my garden for 3 different kinds of hot peppers. Left out the salt, I don't believe you need it with both ham & bacon. Hubbie said "Best beans ever".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
348 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Since our 7&9-yr olds won't eat spicy foods, I onitted the cayenne and jalapenos (and the bell peppers 'cause we're not fond of them). I slow-cooked the peas the first 3 hours on High and the next 2 hours on Low, with a hambone from a honeybaked ham from Christmas. Due to other reviews I only added 5 cups water and the mixture was still soupy. However, the results are WONDERFUL and the honebaked hambone added a slightly sweet flavor, but not too sweet, just enough to make you come back for more. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Followed this exact recipe except used 5 cups water and 1 can chicken broth (instead of the bouillon cube) Absolutely delicious! We love spicy food, and this was the perfect amount of spice! Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
EXACTLY what I was looking for. Nice and spicy and just great overall flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This is great! We loved it. Goes good with corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Average. We thought that it needed more seasoning, maybe more jalepeno. Totally turned out like soup, so we ate it over brown rice with hot sauce. I soaked the beans overnight, added a can of diced tomatoes (probably added to the watery-ness) and cooked on high for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Substituted 4 cans of black-eyed peas (rinsed) and cooked on medium-low for about 30 minutes. Was short on time but still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This is by far the BEST slow cooker recipe for black eyed peas. The peas were soft but not mushy and the spicy taste was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
What a great way to add luck to the new year! Added chicken broth instead of water but followed the rest of the recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States