Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
these peas were great! followed other reviewers suggestions,they turned out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Turned out OK. Not a family favorite, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
wow - this is an awesome recipe! I took advice from alot of the reviews on here: Used chicken broth instead of water, and pan-fried the bacon. Then I used some of the leftover bacon grease to saute the onions, bell peppers, & garlic, before adding it to the crock pot. I omitted the jalapeno because i didnt want it too picante. Cooked for 4 hours on high, then for the last hour I added some collard greens. Came out perfect! Just a hint of spice - boy was it good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Delicious! I left out the bacon and onion, but added a can of Rotel like another reviewer suggested. We love this on a cold winter evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
wow. amazing. best black eyed dish yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
We didn't care for this. For some reason my peas didn't soften much. I even decided to cook it all night. Very bland too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzette Greear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I found this recipe b/c I was trying to use up leftover Christmas ham. I didn't know if my family would like black-eyed peas, as I had never served them before. It was a hit. I followed the recipe exactly, and served it with Trader Joe's corn bread (THE BEST!). This was a good cold weather comfort meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
The best recipe for black eyed peas I've found. I did use 4 cans of black eyed peas, undrained, one can water, one heaping teaspoon chicken bouillian, three onions, chopped, two cloves garlic, crushed, one red & one green pepper, diced, one package pork neck bones, 1/8 teaspoon red pepper, 1-1/2 teaspoons cumin, 1/2 teaspoons black pepper, 2 Tablespoons honey, 2 teaspoons celery salt & one can tomato paste with Italian herbs. Covered & cooked in crock pot & served with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Delicious!!! And low fat too. Not too spicy for me- I would call this "medium". Next time I will fix cornbread to go with it. I chopped up everything the night before and threw it together in 10 minutes the next morning. My house smelled so good when I got home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Quite good. and very New Years nutritious. Used 12 slices turkey bacon and no ham, added some chopped tomatoes and more chicken broth as others suggested. Served over brown rice. All the kids ate it and some asked for 2nds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States