Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This one of my "go to" recipes especially in the winter. It is flavorful and spicy. I make it vegetarian by leaving out the ham and bacon and using a veggie bullion cube. It is so good. I like it with homemade crusty bread or corn bread or just by itself. I make it often. No need to pre-soak the black eyed peas. I also make them on top of the stove, simmer for about an hour or until tender. They are even better the next day if they last that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Folck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Humdrum side dish. The leftover peas tasted better a day later, perhaps closing in on a 4* rating. Made as written which was a mistake. Almost always sub broth for a bouillon cube, and should have done so this time. The excessive water is intended to cover all the ingredients while slow cooking but has to be drained off unless wanting to have black-eyed pea soup. A lot of flavor is lost by draining it away. Doubt we will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
What a great recipe! I made 1 slight change, I omitted the jalapeño and doubled the cayenne pepper only because I forgot the jalapeño. Still, it tasted amazing! I cooked on low and they were ready early at about 5 hours. Still, great recipe. Much better than eating the canned ones full of preservatives. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
These were just amazing. They did have a bit of a kick, but it you like dried beans, these were just outstanding. I followed the recipe exactly as it was, no alterations. We've had this twice now and I'm going to make it for our next church supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly as printed except I doubled the garlic. This was a GREAT meal!! I will make this again in the fall with cornbread muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Cooked it just as it was. I didn't change anything. Thought it was fantastic. I served it over brown rice. Very easy and all the flavors were great. I'm making it again and putting it in the freezer so I can have quick meals on days i'm too lazy to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 46Gators

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I did not like this, even though I followed the recipe exactly. Very boring and bland. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I make this recipe and freeze the leftovers. When they're gone I make it again. This is SO tasty. The only thing I change is that I use one can chicken broth, 1 can veggie broth and 3 cups of water instead of the 6 cups of water. My husband and I both love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
We have made this recipe twice for good luck on New Year's Day. Because my husband is not fond of spicy, I omitted the jalapeno, but otherwise followed the recipe, except for using bacon instead of ham. The first time I soaked the beans, which worked out fine. This time, I took the advice of many reviewers and did not soak the beans. It was lucky that I had decided to prepare the recipe the night before, as it took over 12 hours to cook on low (raised to medium half-way through). Next time, I will play it safe and soak the beans! Family loved it, and I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I was disappointed. Eight hours was too long to cook the beans. The consistency was terrible. I didn't have a jalapeno and cayenne is all heat, so I used 1 tsp. Chipotle powder to replace both. I also used chicken broth and water to replace the bullion cube. It had no flavor except heat! When I reheated the leftovers, I added a can of diced tomatoes, chili powder and extra cumin. I then served it over brown rice to cut heat and improve the consistency. It tasted better. I just can't stand to waste food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States