Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This is my second year in a row making this for New Year's Day. It's easy to put together, smells great cooking all day, and tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I added an extra cup of water and 2 cans of stewed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
My new "go-to" black eyed peas recipe. I made half the recipe, used my homemade chicken stock instead of water and bouillon cube, kept the whole minced jalapeno and added a scant 1/8 tsp. cayenne. absolute perfection! We're at high altitude, so I soaked the peas for 18 hours and slow cooker 8 hours. They turned out nice and tender. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
It was good. I wasn't sure about the dried beans at first, but it came out fine. Only thing is that next time I make it I would put it on High, so I can spend up the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was the 1st ever time for me to make black-eyed peas and they were a hit!! I made them per the recipe/instructions but omitted the jalapeno b/c I thought the cayenne pepper was all the heat it needed. We ate it as the main dish with buttermilk cornbread which was perfect. This is honestly the 1st dish I've made that my husband ate 3 servings of in the same day and he made sure to remind me that a tradition had been born so I'm now bound to make them every New Years. The only sad thing about making this is the fact that I only have one small bowl leftover for lunch tomorrow. ;) FIVE STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Really, really good!! I agree with others in that you should use about a cup or two less water than suggested. I made a few changes... I used half chicken broth/water, I left out the red pepper and added diced tomatoes and a can of hot Rotel instead, and I also sautéed the onion, garlic, jalapeños, bacon and ham before putting them in the crockpot. I left out the cayenne because the jalapeños give it plenty of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I mixed it up and used smoked turkey necks instead of any pork products and served over brown rice. Absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Nelson-Haynes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
The recipe is awesome! We loved the spiciness - not too hot but the perfect New Years side for ham! PS - I used the sodium free chicken bouillon & did not miss the salt at all!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I didn't use the ham at all, increased the cayenne pepper, and served it over corn bread. Tasted 10x better a couple of days later!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States