Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Made it exactly as recipe called for. I don't think it needs anything else, the ham and bacon are perfect and add just the right amount of flavor so you still get the flavor of the Black-Eyed Peas. Gave some to my parents and they both said they are the best Black Eyed-Peas they ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I wanted to make something different this New Year's day and it turned out great. This is a keeper - will definitely make more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Awesome flavor with a few changes of my own and what others suggested: (1) omit salt, broth and meats add plenty of salt; (2) I used vegetable base in place of chicken cube and a tsp. of Vigo ham flavoring; (3) I substituted chipolte powder for cayenne for a smoky heat; (4) I added 2 chopped carrots and 1 stalk chopped celery for extra vegetables and fiber without much change to taste but pretty colors. (5) 1-2 hrs before finishing the 8 hrs on low in a crock pot, I added 1 bunch chopped collard greens; (5)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I never even thought to cook black-eyed peas in the slow cooker until I found this recipe last year. For that alone, it gets 5 stars! I don't add all the spices because I don't think they're necessary (jmo).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I forgot the red bell pepper but it was still delicious! It turned out more like soup, and was wonderful. I didn't use a jalapeno since Iwas also serving my 2-yr old--instead I used 1/2 a yellow chili and 1/2 and anaheim chili. It gave a nice kick but not overly spicy. The recipe says "salt to taste" so I guessed and used 1 tsp of salt and it was perfect to me. Also fyi, I did not pre-soak the beans and they were perfectly cooked after 6 hours on low. Actually my husband couldn't wait and was eating them at 5 1/2 hrs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
My family who usually complains about black eyed peas on new years day actually loved this variation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
We loved this. A perfect New e Year's Day meal! I did not have a jalepeno - used some Tabasco sauce instead. Otherwise, I reduced the water by one cup and got a nice thick dish. Very tasty - I look forward to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Fantastic. I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made these today for our traditional New Year's Day dinner with collard greens. I left out the peppers since I didn't have them and added a few red pepper flakes for the jalapeno. Mine were done in about 6 hours and I didn't soak them ahead of time. I like the ease of preparation of these and the taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Excellent recipe. I soaked my beans overnight, browned my bacon, sauted the onions and used ham hocks instead of chopped ham. Served with jalapeno corn bread found on this site and it was an amazing meal!! This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States