Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by Princess Tanya
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Had I felt led to give this recipe a lower rating I would not have posted since I feel it is unfair to give a low rating when you do not follow the recipe as posted. However, this was a hit and even though I made a few adjustments I am still posting a solid 4 star rating. What caught my attention was the slow cooker cooking method and not so much the spiciness. Not being a fan of spicy, I omitted the jalapeno (and the red pepper). I also used canned chicken broth instead of the bouillon. Otherwise I stuck with the recipe and the preparation/cooking method and thought the peas turned out great! The addition of the ham and cumin really gave a great smoky flavor. These were a wonderful addition to my New Years Day meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Usually, corned beef is the star of the meal for us on New Year's Day, but not this year! Everyone raved over these! I used broth instead of cubes, no salt, and just let these cook on low all day long. It was so good I was still eating it for lunch with corn bread the whole next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Nevitt Borgnini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by atrublkqueen
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Absolutely loved these! Didn't use ham, I put 2 ham hocks in and this was a wonderful dish! My gf is wanting this again! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atrublkqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Opelika, Alabama, USA
Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Really good! Made this on New Year's Day as Black Eyed Peas bring you luck in the New Year per the southern tradition. My husband who never eats them with me actually really liked this! I didn't buy bacon for just the few slices this recipe called for and didn't miss them. I wouldn't call this recipe spicy (added a lot of hot sauce to my bowl!) so don't shy away if you don't like spicy foold. It's just plain yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Love it! I love having a bit more spiciness to traditional black-eyed beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rubypeaches

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Best Black-Eyed Peas I've ever eaten! People in my family that absolutely would not eat them, enjoyed them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Merged these instructions with the ingredients for Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
These were really good but waaaaaaaaaaay too spicy (and I like spicy). I would cut the spicy spices in half or just serve cayenne or tabasco on the side. I had to add apple juice and brown sugar to cut down on the spicy. And don't worry if you think it's too watery--if you're adding greens in the last hr (like me & another reviewer) you'll need that extra broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Made this for New Year's Day party. Used leftover ham and omitted the bacon. Otherwise followed the recipe. Huge hit - will make again!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I wanted to try something new for the HOLIDAY and stumbled upon this gem. Wow! The flavor in this recipe is all over the place and you will not be disappointed. My husband, who normally eats a spoonful to keep up in tradition, ate this by the bowlful multiple times. I prepared this as is, the only change is I used my pressure cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todayz_Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States