Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
After years of making black-eyed peas for New Years Day, this is the absolute best recipe!! I doubled everything for my large oval slow cooker, using 9 cups of water (including 1.5 cups with the 2 dissolved bouillon cubes.) No bacon, and just my ham bones leftover, with some added chunks of ham. I also used about 1/2 small can of jalapenos, as I had none fresh. It DOES thicken up when it cools, too. So yummy that I've now been appointed the official "bean cook" in the house. Big honor, here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdeB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made this for New Years 2012 - we loved it - not at all too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I sauted the veggies, added a couple chopped carrots in a tspn olive oil till soft. I used 3 cans (14oz) low sodium chicken broth, omitted bacon and salt. Cooked on high for 4 hours then on low for 2 hours! A delicious Happy New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
My hubby & I made this on New Years Day. We made a few little tweaks but the flavor was awesome! My hubby said today we'll be eating alot of BEP's this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This recipe is perfect. I didn't have fresh jalapeno so I used 1 tablespoon diced. I also added a ham bone. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This turned out even better than expected, and was even better on day 2 (after I combined it with the leftover collard greens). I'm definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
hoping to get lucky in 2012 with this recipe! i rarely make things as-written, but needed no improvements. i sauteed the garlic/onion/jalapeno/ham in bacon grease before adding to the slow cooker. it all came out great. i did leave out the cayenne hoping it wouldn't be too spicy for my one year old. husband added tapatio to his -- baby and i had sour cream. sticks to your ribs good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Easy and delicious way to fix black eyed peas,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
So Good!! We had this today for New Years... I used five cups of Chicken broth (no water or Bouillon) I also just used ham and skipped the bacon. Very, very good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindsay
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Delicious! I added an extra bouillon cube and didn't actually have ham so doubled the bacon. I also added a few handfuls of fresh spinach 30 minutes before it was done. I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States