Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This turned out even better than expected, and was even better on day 2 (after I combined it with the leftover collard greens). I'm definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
hoping to get lucky in 2012 with this recipe! i rarely make things as-written, but needed no improvements. i sauteed the garlic/onion/jalapeno/ham in bacon grease before adding to the slow cooker. it all came out great. i did leave out the cayenne hoping it wouldn't be too spicy for my one year old. husband added tapatio to his -- baby and i had sour cream. sticks to your ribs good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Easy and delicious way to fix black eyed peas,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
So Good!! We had this today for New Years... I used five cups of Chicken broth (no water or Bouillon) I also just used ham and skipped the bacon. Very, very good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindsay
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Delicious! I added an extra bouillon cube and didn't actually have ham so doubled the bacon. I also added a few handfuls of fresh spinach 30 minutes before it was done. I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is a great recipe,I cooked two batches,since I liked the first one so much,I kept that one for us,and took the second one to work for NewYears Eve potluck,it was a hit. I think for Dietary purposes,I will try to make it next time with Turkey Bacon and smoked Turkey Thighs.Just for New Years Eve I wanted to make it in the original version for Good Luck :) It was Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
First time I've cooked with dried peas. Usually open a can. This was a great recipe. I ommitted the pepper but the seasonings were dead on. Didn't soak beans and cooked in crock pot on high about 4 hours. Boiled peas on stove to thicken the broth. Loved it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nonavr66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Great recipe as is...wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
OUTSTANDING!!! This was the BEST tasting "beans" I've ever eaten, with just a touch of spicy! I made it for New Years Day (for good luck & wealth) - made a 1/2 batch. I've already eaten 3 small bowls. I made this exactly as the recipe said and would not change a thing. Mmmmm.... going for another bowl!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norco, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Made exactly as recipe calls, and it's really good! It is on the spicy side, but that could easily be adjusted. Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States