Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Yummy! I like to amp up the seasonings...more garlic, cumin, and I also add a handful of chopped cilantro. Sliced smoked sausage is good in this, too. Really great served over rice, with a squeeze of fresh lime! With a salad, it's a great meal. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Made this Black-Eyed Pease receipe the last 2 years for NYE Dinner and it was excellent both times (and last year it brought us lots of good luck)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Great recipe....I actually added 1lbs of Cubed Ham. I also added 2 bouillon cubes and 6 cloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tclark6262

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlan, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
After years of making black-eyed peas for New Years Day, this is the absolute best recipe!! I doubled everything for my large oval slow cooker, using 9 cups of water (including 1.5 cups with the 2 dissolved bouillon cubes.) No bacon, and just my ham bones leftover, with some added chunks of ham. I also used about 1/2 small can of jalapenos, as I had none fresh. It DOES thicken up when it cools, too. So yummy that I've now been appointed the official "bean cook" in the house. Big honor, here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdeB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made this for New Years 2012 - we loved it - not at all too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I sauted the veggies, added a couple chopped carrots in a tspn olive oil till soft. I used 3 cans (14oz) low sodium chicken broth, omitted bacon and salt. Cooked on high for 4 hours then on low for 2 hours! A delicious Happy New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
My hubby & I made this on New Years Day. We made a few little tweaks but the flavor was awesome! My hubby said today we'll be eating alot of BEP's this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This recipe is perfect. I didn't have fresh jalapeno so I used 1 tablespoon diced. I also added a ham bone. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This turned out even better than expected, and was even better on day 2 (after I combined it with the leftover collard greens). I'm definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
hoping to get lucky in 2012 with this recipe! i rarely make things as-written, but needed no improvements. i sauteed the garlic/onion/jalapeno/ham in bacon grease before adding to the slow cooker. it all came out great. i did leave out the cayenne hoping it wouldn't be too spicy for my one year old. husband added tapatio to his -- baby and i had sour cream. sticks to your ribs good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States