Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
These were phenominal!!! i used stock instead of water and boullion. I used 2 jalapeno's and about 5 garlic cloves and the whole ham steak. Very flavorful and spicy! This recipe even converted 3 black-eye-pea haters!! way to go MJ46NY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Pretty good as it is! Added some extra cabbage for good luck =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This was excellent! I made a few changes based on reviews I read. I used two ham shanks, and left out the bacon and diced ham. I used 5 cups of water instead of 6, and I did not add salt. I also left out the jalapeño pepper. I will definitely make this again. The ham shanks gave it a great flavor, and it was plenty spicy without the jalapeño pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Turned out great even though I had to make substitutions because I didn't have some of the ingredients on hand. No bouillon and only had one can of chicken broth, so I replaced 2 c. of water with a can of broth. Subbed thickly sliced carrots for bell pepper. I'm not sure the bell peppers would have made it through an overnight cooking anyway. Subbed jarred jalapenos for fresh. Used hog jowl instead of bacon. (I have never had hog jowl "on hand." Someone told me it was part of the New Year's tradition. Not sure what part of the pig it is, but it was tasty.) :) Put that in the slow cooker on low the night before (beans were not pre-soaked) and had it for lunch the next day with cornbread. Added several handfuls of chopped kale about 20 minutes before serving. My husband added pepper vinegar because he likes things spicier than the rest of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Yummy! I like to amp up the seasonings...more garlic, cumin, and I also add a handful of chopped cilantro. Sliced smoked sausage is good in this, too. Really great served over rice, with a squeeze of fresh lime! With a salad, it's a great meal. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Made this Black-Eyed Pease receipe the last 2 years for NYE Dinner and it was excellent both times (and last year it brought us lots of good luck)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Great recipe....I actually added 1lbs of Cubed Ham. I also added 2 bouillon cubes and 6 cloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tclark6262

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlan, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
After years of making black-eyed peas for New Years Day, this is the absolute best recipe!! I doubled everything for my large oval slow cooker, using 9 cups of water (including 1.5 cups with the 2 dissolved bouillon cubes.) No bacon, and just my ham bones leftover, with some added chunks of ham. I also used about 1/2 small can of jalapenos, as I had none fresh. It DOES thicken up when it cools, too. So yummy that I've now been appointed the official "bean cook" in the house. Big honor, here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdeB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made this for New Years 2012 - we loved it - not at all too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I sauted the veggies, added a couple chopped carrots in a tspn olive oil till soft. I used 3 cans (14oz) low sodium chicken broth, omitted bacon and salt. Cooked on high for 4 hours then on low for 2 hours! A delicious Happy New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States