Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
We didn't care for this. For some reason my peas didn't soften much. I even decided to cook it all night. Very bland too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I found this recipe b/c I was trying to use up leftover Christmas ham. I didn't know if my family would like black-eyed peas, as I had never served them before. It was a hit. I followed the recipe exactly, and served it with Trader Joe's corn bread (THE BEST!). This was a good cold weather comfort meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
The best recipe for black eyed peas I've found. I did use 4 cans of black eyed peas, undrained, one can water, one heaping teaspoon chicken bouillian, three onions, chopped, two cloves garlic, crushed, one red & one green pepper, diced, one package pork neck bones, 1/8 teaspoon red pepper, 1-1/2 teaspoons cumin, 1/2 teaspoons black pepper, 2 Tablespoons honey, 2 teaspoons celery salt & one can tomato paste with Italian herbs. Covered & cooked in crock pot & served with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Delicious!!! And low fat too. Not too spicy for me- I would call this "medium". Next time I will fix cornbread to go with it. I chopped up everything the night before and threw it together in 10 minutes the next morning. My house smelled so good when I got home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Quite good. and very New Years nutritious. Used 12 slices turkey bacon and no ham, added some chopped tomatoes and more chicken broth as others suggested. Served over brown rice. All the kids ate it and some asked for 2nds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Awesome recipe for black-eyed peas! I used 5 cups of chicken stock instead of water and boullion cube. Ham steak instead of bacon and increased garlic to 4 cloves. Also, added one bunch of collard greens 1.5 hours before end of cooking time. Cooked on high for 4 hours, then reduced to low for 2 hours. Served with sour cream, green onions and cilantro...best black-eyed peas ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Pawleys Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This recipe was great!! I am from Georgia, so this was perfect for our New Year's day good luck dish. I added a bit more garlic and a few shakes of hot sauce, and it was very tasty. My husabnd raved they were the best he's had. Beans were perfectly cooked- although I did take the advice of another review and cook on high for the first hour.Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! Everyone in our family, including kids and serious foodies, raved about it. I fried the bacon and crumbled it and then used a small amount of the grease to saute the onion, red bell pepper, jalapeno, garlic, cumin, ground black pepper, and cayenne, before adding everything to the crock pot. I used boxed chicken broth instead of boullion (4 cups plus 2 cups water), and the resulting thick soup was very flavorful with no additional salt needed. Served with sweet, moist cornbread. Thanks so much for the wonderful recipe! I have been asked to make it often...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I had high hopes for this recipe since it was so highly rated. Followed the recipe exactly, but unfortunately, no one in our family liked it. We just don't like black-eyed peas no matter how hard we try, I guess. This recipe sounded really really good, and is probably outstanding if you like those nasty black-eyed pea. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearland Quilter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Super easy recipe that just gets better and better as it sits. Twice as good the 2nd and 3rd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justdawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States