Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was the 1st ever time for me to make black-eyed peas and they were a hit!! I made them per the recipe/instructions but omitted the jalapeno b/c I thought the cayenne pepper was all the heat it needed. We ate it as the main dish with buttermilk cornbread which was perfect. This is honestly the 1st dish I've made that my husband ate 3 servings of in the same day and he made sure to remind me that a tradition had been born so I'm now bound to make them every New Years. The only sad thing about making this is the fact that I only have one small bowl leftover for lunch tomorrow. ;) FIVE STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Really, really good!! I agree with others in that you should use about a cup or two less water than suggested. I made a few changes... I used half chicken broth/water, I left out the red pepper and added diced tomatoes and a can of hot Rotel instead, and I also sautéed the onion, garlic, jalapeños, bacon and ham before putting them in the crockpot. I left out the cayenne because the jalapeños give it plenty of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I mixed it up and used smoked turkey necks instead of any pork products and served over brown rice. Absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
The recipe is awesome! We loved the spiciness - not too hot but the perfect New Years side for ham! PS - I used the sodium free chicken bouillon & did not miss the salt at all!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I didn't use the ham at all, increased the cayenne pepper, and served it over corn bread. Tasted 10x better a couple of days later!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I changed very little with this, instead of water and a bouillon cube, I just used low-sodium chicken broth because I already had a box open and why not? Also, I didn't buy bacon, I had about 1/3 jar of real bacon bits that I threw in there. I didn't add any salt because I figured the ham and bacon would be enough and I was right. This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Fantastic! Spice is just right as is the broth. Perfect with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
So easy- did not soak the peas! Delicious! Used chicken stock instead of water and chopped up a few grape tomatoes also- I just had them around. Used green pepper instead of red cause that was in my fridge. So yummy and delicious. Did not use the hot pepper or cayenne cause I'm a wimp but my family can add hot sauce at the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States