Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Very bland recipe for us, and I even added more garlic and cayenne. The jalapeño and red pepper were complete mush by the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Was reluctant to cook the beans without soaking, but based on the reviews took a chance. It was great. Used a smoked turkey wing instead of the ham and bacon. Put it in the crockpot with water to cover & cooked on high for a couple of hours. Makes a wonderful broth and the meat comes off the bone. Added the rest of the ingredients, but no bouillon as you have the broth already, & cooked on low according to directions. Added a touch of sugar near the end - calms the spicy a bit. Will do this again. One more tip - used a crockpot liner for the first time, makes cleanup a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I wasn't really impressed with this recipe as I found it to be missing something even after I doubled the red bell pepper, onion, black pepper, and garlic. Actually, I tripled the garlic and black pepper. I added 1/2 tsp more cumin, 3 large carrots, and used chicken stock instead of the 6 cups water and a bouillon cube, and I even put a huge ham bone in. The only thing that this recipe called for that I didn't use was the jalapeno which I substituted for a dried ancho chili because I wanted a more mild recipe that my little ones would be able to eat. My husband loved it, my toddlers liked the broth, but I was indifferent. I'm happy that I doubled everything. I'll probably make this recipe again, but with my additions. Maybe next time I'll add that jalapeno too because maybe I was missing that spicy kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Made as written, except used season salt in lieu of table salt, and added a tsp of cayenne pepper powder for a little heat. Family loved! Super easy, inexpensive, and oh so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Totally awesome New Year's dish! Being from the south, New Year's day demands that one have black-eyed peas. Sadly, I have never been a fan of black-eyed peas. Regardless, tradition dictated that this once a year ritual must be done. I tired this recipe with no changes and loved it! It was amazing how delicious this made those previously despised peas. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Best black-eyed pea recipe ever. Only adjustments I make are using chicken stock and adding one can of diced tomatoes. I use pepper bacon for an added kick. Fantastic with a little sour cream and cornbread. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I cooked these for New Years Day. My husband does not like onions or peppers, but when he went back for seconds I knew we had a hit!!!! Love it I will never good back to plain black eyes again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I didn't use a slow cooker, used 2 canned blacked peas, cooked bacon with onion,garlic, cumin and peppers. Then added broth and let simmer for a good while. Served with corn bread. It has become a New Year's day tradition. Friends and family look forward to this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari Anthony

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Second year in a row I've made these! So super good! Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Great recipe. Left out the ham and added one can of Rotel tomatoes. Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States