Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
I cooked this yesterday and followed the recipe. Cooked in 4 hrs. Delicious, will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Banning, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
Husband loved it. Great for his diet too without the ham. ( I did put some bacon in it.. shhh) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
We enjoyed this served over brown rice. I upped the heat by increasing the cayenne pepper and the jalapenos. I also used chicken broth for half of the liquid instead of all water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
Ham or bacon are really good in black-eyed peas, but not both!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
4.5 stars: This is a great way to make peas using the crock pot during the summer and when needing to save a stove burner. I gave it 5, because I changed some things. I used a leftover ham bone, and did not use the bacon since it had a little fat. I also left out the onion (used onion powder), red bell peppers and jalapeno for a child. Still, very good and ready in 5 hours on low. I plan to make it with ALL of the ingredients sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Loved it. Threw in my ham shank from Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
These were okay. I wasn't a fan of the combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
These are amazing. Made for a potluck and there was not a spoonful left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Followed the recipe but cut it in half. I really have never liked black eyed peas, but these were great. I'll actually make these more often and not just on January first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I made these for New Years and they were wonderful. I did not soak them. The only change to the recipe was, I used chicken broth because I had no bouillon. We like spicy food and did not find this recipe to be too spicy at all. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwen McCullough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upper Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States