Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
FABULOUS!!!! These are SO good, will always be a recipe in our house, YUM! The only thing different, cooked in chicken broth, no water, and added a teaspoon of chicken base. What a keeper, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
This was really good. I only used half of a jalapeno and I used 2 country style pork ribs, cut with fat trimmed off, instead of the ham and bacon. Subbed 2 cans of broth and then used water to make up the 6 cups. No buillion. It turned out still spicy but not too much. SO delicious! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
We doubled the recipe with the following changes. We used hog jowl instead of both the ham and bacon. We halved the cumin. Used only 1 onion. Used 4 bags frozen (thawed in fridge overnight) black eye peas instead of dry ones. We didn't add the cayenne pepper nor regular pepper. Added 1 tsp salt. The second time I made this, I added some andouille sausage that was fried in olive oil first. Made in a 6 qt crockpot on high for just over 4 hrs. I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I have made these numerous times with navy beans instead of Black eyed peas and they turn out just as good. Definitely 5 stars and always a party favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
A Really yummy spicy meal. I Love it. I followed the recipe as directed with minor alterations. I didn't have quite enough cumin left in my jar. So I Added chili powder a shake of ginger. A dash of Worcestershire sauce. With things like this you can play around with seasonings. I didn't add any salt. It was salty enough. I added a frozen block of chopped spinach. I used 6 cups of water total and I think that's fine. It's a chunky soup type consistency. That's what I wanted. I added a tablespoon of corn starch to thicken the soup up. (I mix cornstarch with a small amount of cold water first) then add. And I made some gluten free biscuits to go with the soup and wow what a fabulous meal. Definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Made these as directed. They are OK but could stand a little more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
It was good. I expected it to be spicier, but i liked it. Would add some more jalapeno next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
need to ease up on spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
wonderful!! added pork roast leftovers to this dish- mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Outstanding! This will be a family favorite! My wife found it a bit too spicy so I will use half the pepper next time. Personally I thought it was perfect as is. Thanks for this wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States