Slow Cooker Spare Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Hard to know how to rate this because I used a completely different sauce...but I used the boil/slow cooker method to cook the ribs and they were a-MAZ-ing...I could hardly get them out of the crock pot they were so tender. Would definitely make them this way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This was a hit with my guests. The meat was so tender it just fell off the bone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Firstly, we took the advice of other members and cut back on the amount of onions the original recipe called for. We have to say this recipe was amazing. The meat literally feel off the bone. Everyone loved it, kids included. The only negative was I made the mistake of using country style pork ribs. There was a lot of fat. I would definitely recommend using a better cut of ribs like baby back or St. Louis. Otherwise, this is a phenomenal recipe. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Trim your spare ribs, don't boil as it leeches the favor. Put in 400 degree oven for 20 minutes while preparing sauce. I used marmalade instead of brown sugar,pomegranite vinegar in equal amounts with soy and worchester, added a litte ginger less onion, reduced the sauce (which was doubled) and coated the ribs well before covering--smelled terrific all day long and the precooked ribs came out nicely browned and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Great recipe - I did make some changes - I doubled all the ingredients except the onion and used stewed tomatoes in place of the tomato soup. After removing the ribs I scooped out the remainder of the cooked ingredients and served over the ribs. Even our picky son cleaned his plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
just ok - wont bother to make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I am not the best cook (according to my husband) so if I can pull something off that the family enjoys, then it's a winner! I followed the changes I recently read, and added the ketchup, cooked it later at 400 degrees for 10 minutes, and thickened up the sauce with cornstarch. It turned out pretty darn good! I'm a teacher, so coming home to this already done was not bad!!! Also, someone wrote about greasy sauce in the pan...mine was too until I thickened it on the stove...and it was so good, that I just stood there eating it with a spoon!!!! Husband approved!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
OMG! This was fall-off-the-bone delicious! This dish made me look like a fabulous cook. I made a few adjustments thanks to other reviewers. I did not boil the ribs. I used a cup of ketchup instead of the tomato sauce, beef ribs instead of pork ribs. I used a very small onion, and a bit more than a tablespoon of brown sugar. I put everything at once in a slow cooker adding about a 1/4 cup of water to make sure there was enough liquid in the slow cooker. Cooked it on low for 8 hours. Then put beef in a foil-lined baking dish with some of the sauce on it in a preheated oven at 400F for 10 minutes. It came out great! Thanks everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I cooked them in the crock pot for about 8 hours. I just poured enough Sweet Baby Ray's over to cover. I didn't mess with the other ingredients. Once they had been in the crock pot long enough to be tender, I carefully placed them on a pan, brushed them with my Tastefully Simple Smokey Bacon Grill Sauce, and broiled for a few minutes. They were Fantastic! I will most definitely use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This recipe turned out tender and very flavorful! I made these for Father's Day and my husband was very happy with them! I did not boil them, I put them straight in the crock pot and cooked them for 6 hours on low (with about 45 on high midway through because I was concerned I put them in too late). I did watch a video of how to trim spare ribs first and I believe the key is in the trimming and the removal of the outer membrane. I used half the amount of onion, as I usually do in most recipes! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Have lip-smacking, saucy ribs ready just minutes after you get home from work.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States