Slow Cooker Spare Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This version is very bland & way too much onion. Also, you don't need to boil the ribs first. All I do is cut the ribs in strips & place them into crock pot. I add my favorite barbeque sauce to the crock pot & cook for 4-6 hours on high or 6-8 hours on low. They are the best & very tender. Much more simpler to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sun Valley, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I'll give this five stars but only because it's a easy recipe. I love garlic, but this is a bit much. Also, when you use canned tomato soup, you get exactly that taste ... canned soup!! Instead, just use your favorite BBQ sauce and forget all the other ingredients. It's a no-brainer. As for boiling the ribs before adding them to the slow cooker, it does help render some of the fat so you don't have greasy ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
My husband raved about this recipe! He's a meat and potatoes guy- and this was a first for me, I'd never made spare ribs before. I've been married for 12 yrs, and there aren't many firsts left! It was easy, just prepare and leave them until they're tender. I seared the ribs with a rub instead of boiling them, and added 2 cups of chicken broth to the crockpot. After they were done I boiled down the liquid to a sauce, even with the cornstarch I added our favorite BBQ to thicken it more. Potato salad and deviled eggs made a very fun fresh meal on a mild day with spring on it's way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefamybyrd

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Whiteland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I have yet to try this recipe but I just know it will be awesome. The one thing I won't do tho' is boil the ribs, as they sit in their own fat. I always pre-cook them, no matter how I cook them but I steam them as there will be no water on them and steaming rids them of extra fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pen R

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
very good. used bbq sauce and it works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as shown. What a great meal! The whole family enjoyed it. It was requested by my husband just a few days after making it the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
YUMMY! I always add a blob of whatever BBQ sauce I have in the fridge to this and it turns out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
No knife required! This meat comes clean off the bone. I only wish that the sauce had some kick to it. I will definitely make this again, but I'll use some bold spices or hot peppers to liven it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkeyleigh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
If you like sticky, sweet, and delicious ribs - these ribs are not for you. The ribs were very tender but lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Rickard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Fabulous! But I tweeked it a little. Doubled the recipe...except used 1 can tomato soup and 1 cup ketchup. Not a whole onion. Used 4 tbsp. of brown sugar and a splash of vinegar. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Have lip-smacking, saucy ribs ready just minutes after you get home from work.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States