Slow Cooker Spare Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I thought it was very good. I did boil the ribs for 15 minutes. I do not like tomato soup so I used tomato catsup, brown sugar, honey (no Worcestershire),3/4 of an onion but I don't think a whole onion would have been too much, 3 garlic cloves. I cooked them on high for about 30 minutes then on low for about 5 hours. They were very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Came out so moist and tender. Finished it off with barbecue sauce in a 350 oven for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Other than adding some hot pepper sauce and onion powder, I followed this recipe and the ribs were delicious. After thickening the sauce at the end, I poured it over the ribs on a baking sheet and put them in the oven for ten minutes. As for the initial boiling of the ribs, I think it is a good idea to do that because it removes a lot of fat that would otherwise end up in the crock pot. Great recipe, thank you Claton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Almost too flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Very tender. I added about 1T of yellow mustard and 1T of honey. The ribs came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
The meat was wonderfully tender but the sauce was too bland so I added 2 TBSP garlic chili sauce before pouring it over the ribs. Also put the cornstarch in at the beginning so sauce was perfectly thickened. When it comes to the onion, I used one that made about 1-1/2 cups diced. Perhaps the recipe should say volume of chopped onions instead of 'one onion' as sizes vary widely. I plan to make pulled pork using this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Made these as directed, however used a tablespoon of spicy brown mustard as I was out of worcestershire sauce. I also followed on reviewers comment about putting a paper towel between the lid of the slow cooker so as to not water down the sauce with the steamy condensation...worked like a charm. Excellent ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Used 2.5 lbs of baby back ribs & marinaded in the sauce overnight, using only 1/2 onion. Added tad of sriracha sauce - no Tabasco sauce available. Needed a bit more of a kick, though. Next time, will add some hickory smoke liquid and ginger. Not too tomatoey or too sweet. Drain the sauce & had to skim off the oil/fat. Even tho baby back ribs do not have much fat on them, after cooking for so long, there's bound to be fat. Cooked it on "low" for 5 hrs & meat was falling off the bone when I tried to pick them up with a tong. Next time reduce the amount of cooking time to maybe 4 hrs. Overall, flavor was not bad but could use a tinge more of a kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I did actually make this recipe as written the first time, and I would give it 4 stars as written but 5 (to our taste) when onion is reduced by half. I have used this MANY times for boneless country style ribs and even a couple of times for a whole pork butt which I shredded for pulled pork sandwiches. For the people who are complaining it turns out greasy- are you boiling the ribs first? This step removes much of the fat. And for the people who are complaining that their beef ribs did not taste good- this is a recipe for pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I didnt use tomato soup either instead of water I used molasses vinegar and brown sugar 1/2 onion and mustard and it turned out great:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Oleson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Have lip-smacking, saucy ribs ready just minutes after you get home from work.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States