Slow Cooker Spare Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
The meat turned out very tender and moist. I made some changes: #1. Didn't boil the ribs first. #2.Cooked for 9 hours #3. Didn't use the sauce that was created because it was too onion-y. Next time I'll only use 1/2 an onion. After the ribs were done I transferred them to a cookie sheet and brushed them with BBQ sauce. I then baked them in a 400 degree oven for between 5 and 10 minutes while I set the table. We were able to pull the bones out (and they were clean), and then ate the meat with a fork. The meat was so tender we didn't need to use dental floss afterwards. It made a really good meal with coleslaw and corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
807 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANNSTODD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Harker Heights, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Five stars, although I did change it somewhat. I used 1.5 times the brown sugar and used 1 cup of ketchup in place of the tomato soup, as I didn't have any on hand. I then also ended up doubling the whole thing for 4 lbs of ribs. We put it in the oven uncovered at 375 for 30 minutes before serving. It was AMAZING! I will use this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
377 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
Very Good, Very Easy. I WILL make this recipe again. After boiling the PORK ribs I put them in the crock pot, but my crock didn't work so hot today for some reason. (Time to get a new one), So instead I had to put the ribs in a "Reynolds Oven Bag" (plastic) and they turned out perfectly yummy! I followed the cooking times that come with the bag which was 325 for 1 1/2 hours, meat is done when fork tender. Thanks for posting your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
We loved the ribs--except I would definitely take other people's advice by not using a whole onion--and maybe about half as much garlic. It was way too oniony! I used BBQ sauce instead of soy, and steak marinade instead of worcester because I didn't have any on hand. I cooked for 8 hours and took the advice of someone else by brushing on more BBQ sauce and cooking them for an extra 10 mins in a 400 degree oven. Perfection! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Queensbury, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I didn't think I would like this recipe because of the tomato soup. I doubled the sauce ingredients and cooked it for 5 hours. I was in for a surprise. My husband and I loved this recipe. It's not too sweet - just right. And the meat just fell off the bone. I will definitely make this again and again. Thanks Clayton
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Loved this recipe and I will use it every time ribs go on sale at the grocery store! I always felt overwhelmed by ribs because I don't have a grill and they can go wrong so easily. I was delighted to come home from work to a pot of PERFECTLY cooked ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
the only good thing about the recipie was the beef it turned out so moist and tender it was very good me and my husband wherent crazy about the sauce but the next day it tasted a little better i wouldnt make it ever again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
These are alright. I made them in my quest for a good rib recipe that can be made in the crock pot. Maybe that is my mistake because I feel that they were too tender. They were falling off the bone and then I had a crock pot full of bones and watery greasy sauce. Did not "look" appetizing in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RENENY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Savanna, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I changed a few things after reading reviews. I used Sloppy Joe mix instead of tom. soup. also no cornstarch. I cooked with rice pilaf and green beans. Everyone loved it will definitly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Great flavor. My husband doesn't like soy sauce, so I substituted 1 tbsp mustard & 1 tbsp honey for the soy sauce. Turned out delicious!! Will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capabayan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Have lip-smacking, saucy ribs ready just minutes after you get home from work.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States