Slow Cooker Spare Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Tried this great recipe last night for dinner. I followed the recipe exactly. Very tasty. As an accompaniment to this dish, I added some cooked egg noodles and a tin of Asian vegetables, i.e., baby corn, bamboo shoots and water chestnuts, during the last 15 minutes of cooking. I will definitely make this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I doubled the recipe. I also used 2 cans of Trader Joe's Tomato Sauce instead of the condensed tomato soup. I also boiled the meat for about 25 minutes to get out as much fat as I could. It was a rousing success! I served it over Asian noodles and 4 people finished it off - no leftovers! The meat was tender and moist. Excellent recipe and I will certainly cook this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
We loved it and it smelled great cooking. I didn't have time to chop so I used dried onion and garlic. It cooked for 7 hours and was falling off the bone, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
When boiling the ribs before they go into the crock pot add a can of clear pop like 7up or sprite to the water. This takes out most of the fat and gives your ribs a sweet taste. This was a great recipe when the grill is not available due to the harsh weather. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tall14u

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This version is very bland & way too much onion. Also, you don't need to boil the ribs first. All I do is cut the ribs in strips & place them into crock pot. I add my favorite barbeque sauce to the crock pot & cook for 4-6 hours on high or 6-8 hours on low. They are the best & very tender. Much more simpler to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sun Valley, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I'll give this five stars but only because it's a easy recipe. I love garlic, but this is a bit much. Also, when you use canned tomato soup, you get exactly that taste ... canned soup!! Instead, just use your favorite BBQ sauce and forget all the other ingredients. It's a no-brainer. As for boiling the ribs before adding them to the slow cooker, it does help render some of the fat so you don't have greasy ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
My husband raved about this recipe! He's a meat and potatoes guy- and this was a first for me, I'd never made spare ribs before. I've been married for 12 yrs, and there aren't many firsts left! It was easy, just prepare and leave them until they're tender. I seared the ribs with a rub instead of boiling them, and added 2 cups of chicken broth to the crockpot. After they were done I boiled down the liquid to a sauce, even with the cornstarch I added our favorite BBQ to thicken it more. Potato salad and deviled eggs made a very fun fresh meal on a mild day with spring on it's way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefamybyrd

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Whiteland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I have yet to try this recipe but I just know it will be awesome. The one thing I won't do tho' is boil the ribs, as they sit in their own fat. I always pre-cook them, no matter how I cook them but I steam them as there will be no water on them and steaming rids them of extra fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pen R

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
very good. used bbq sauce and it works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as shown. What a great meal! The whole family enjoyed it. It was requested by my husband just a few days after making it the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Have lip-smacking, saucy ribs ready just minutes after you get home from work.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States