Slow Cooker Spanish Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Great taste! But as I feared as I ate from the slow cooker - too much fat... You have pepperoni and a fat-laden cut of beef... But there is a solution: Put the pot in the fridge after cooking and before eating... Give it a few hours, and voila! The grease has congealed at the top of the stew... Using a flat spoon, work out the grease layer (mine was about an 1/8 of an inch) - and if you want to save any ingredient that was attached: use a pan to melt the grease and a strainer spoon to rescue the pieces... It still tastes good, and your heart will thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spicy Tim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This was wonderful! I You can make it to what your family likes. Great recipe will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I am not a huge slow cooked beef fan because I find it dry. I decided to give this a shot and it is absolutely delicious. It is tender, juicy and flavorful. My family loves it and our dinner guests raved out it and begged for the recipe. Two thumbs up from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
My family really enjoyed this meal. We put it over mashed potatoes and with the left overs I plan on removing most of the juice and sautéing it with bowtie noodles. I only used a 3# roast and it still made plenty for our family of 4, TWICE! I used diced tomatoes(what I had in the pantry). I also used one bag of the mini pepperonis instead of full size, they are more manageable for little ones and less greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Slap your momma good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Made this yesterday! IT WAS HORRIBLE... I made it exactly how it's written, and it had a weird taste. It was also bland at the same time. Everyone ate it stating it wasn't bad, but no one wants it again. I'd rather make regular pot roast than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This was a wonderful alternative! I did make some changes as follows: 1) Switched green olives for the black; 2) Omitted the pepperoni; 3) Added lots of vegetables, including carrots, onion, celery, daikon radish, turnip, and parsnips. 4) Made it more Mediterranean by adding balsamic vinegar, a bit of a very high quality olive oil, capers, and lime juice. It was terrific, and the next night I turned the leftovers into a soup (first removed the olive pits), which also cooked all day in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This was okay. Not enough zip for me. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Didn't use the total amount of pepperoni listed (don't get it on pizzas) and used a London Broil I had on hand. Will try a chuck next time. Also added some sliced green olives with the canned black ones. This made an excellent, different pot roast that was easy to put together. The ingredients meld nicely for a good flavor. Served with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Really yummy! I used stewing steak though but turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teddington, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States