Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
My slow cooker is large and I used 2 lbs of ground beef and added 1 large can of diced tomatoes, just cutting back on the tomato sauce. I also do not have a low setting for 4 hours, but cooked it on high for 4 hours and it was fabulous. What a fantastic way to top of spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Kirkey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Ver nice and thick although I did add a bit more sugar, a chopped green pepper and basil and oregano. The family all liked it and I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I used Italian herb tomato sauce instead of the plain puree. I also added about twice the amount of sugar required. While browning the meat I added the Italian seasoning to it as well as some fresh ground pepper, salt, and a little bit of cayenne. I added about 1/2 teapsoon of chili powder to the sauce as well. It turned out really well and it's great to freeze the leftovers for a quick meal another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
Great recipe! Easy and fast. Everyone loved it at our dinner table. About the only thing I will do differently is to let the onions saute a little longer. Try this recipe. I think you'll really enjoy it! Thanks Jenn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I made this twice and each time I tasted a "burnt" flavor. Not too sure any tomato sauce is meant for the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This is a flexible recipe, and a great way to make spaghetti sauce ahead of time to put in quart baggies to freeze. Loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bingen, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I thought the recipe was great. I added italian sausage and a bay leaf to add some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magnolia Blossom
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Recipe creator indicated they didn't know exact measurements for spices, so keeping that in mind, I doubled the amount of Italian seasoning, added more garlic, and also added some beef soup base. Seemed to have a strong taste of the tomato paste, almost bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This recipe is absolutely fantastic. We're a small family so I halved it, doubled the garlic and the seasoning, added a couple of small hot sausages and threw a bay leaf into the slow-cooker for good measure; we had delicious leftovers for days
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gnomie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Hmmm, not sure about this one. I had read that I should add dry herbs at the end of slow cooking so I waited til the end of cooking and the sauce was good, but on the bland side. I made a triple batch and have since used the sauce as a base for chili and baked spaghetti where I can add flavourings as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMIESMOM1973

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States