Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
My slow cooker is large and I used 2 lbs of ground beef and added 1 large can of diced tomatoes, just cutting back on the tomato sauce. I also do not have a low setting for 4 hours, but cooked it on high for 4 hours and it was fabulous. What a fantastic way to top of spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAKIRKEY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Ver nice and thick although I did add a bit more sugar, a chopped green pepper and basil and oregano. The family all liked it and I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I used Italian herb tomato sauce instead of the plain puree. I also added about twice the amount of sugar required. While browning the meat I added the Italian seasoning to it as well as some fresh ground pepper, salt, and a little bit of cayenne. I added about 1/2 teapsoon of chili powder to the sauce as well. It turned out really well and it's great to freeze the leftovers for a quick meal another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
Great recipe! Easy and fast. Everyone loved it at our dinner table. About the only thing I will do differently is to let the onions saute a little longer. Try this recipe. I think you'll really enjoy it! Thanks Jenn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I made this twice and each time I tasted a "burnt" flavor. Not too sure any tomato sauce is meant for the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This is a flexible recipe, and a great way to make spaghetti sauce ahead of time to put in quart baggies to freeze. Loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bingen, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I thought the recipe was great. I added italian sausage and a bay leaf to add some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magnolia Blossom
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Recipe creator indicated they didn't know exact measurements for spices, so keeping that in mind, I doubled the amount of Italian seasoning, added more garlic, and also added some beef soup base. Seemed to have a strong taste of the tomato paste, almost bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This recipe is absolutely fantastic. We're a small family so I halved it, doubled the garlic and the seasoning, added a couple of small hot sausages and threw a bay leaf into the slow-cooker for good measure; we had delicious leftovers for days
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gnomie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Hmmm, not sure about this one. I had read that I should add dry herbs at the end of slow cooking so I waited til the end of cooking and the sauce was good, but on the bland side. I made a triple batch and have since used the sauce as a base for chili and baked spaghetti where I can add flavourings as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMIESMOM1973

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States