Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I had company coming over for supper but I wasn't sure what time they would arrive. This sauce worked really well. I cooked it for 4 hours on low. When I put it all together I was a bit concerned that it tasted very tomatoey but after 4 hours it was delicious. I have some leftovers and they will go into the freezer. To make the meal easier I pre-cooked the spaghetti for about 3/4 the time needed and rinsed it in cold water. I kept the water simmering on the stove and kept adding water and then when my guests arrived I turned the pot back up to boil and put the mostly cooked spaghetti in the pot. It only took a couple of minutes to finish cooking and we were eating within a short time of their arrival. I would do this again if I needed a meal like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Easy & tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~ToRi~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Quinta, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
uses some more salt and sugar and itlaian seasoning and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magnolia Blossom
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Recipe creator indicated they didn't know exact measurements for spices, so keeping that in mind, I doubled the amount of Italian seasoning, added more garlic, and also added some beef soup base. Seemed to have a strong taste of the tomato paste, almost bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This lacks the robust flavor of Italian sauces. Tasted too much like sauce from a jar with beef added. Definitely needs more spices. It was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This recipe is absolutely fantastic. We're a small family so I halved it, doubled the garlic and the seasoning, added a couple of small hot sausages and threw a bay leaf into the slow-cooker for good measure; we had delicious leftovers for days
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gnomie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This was very good! I added some extra spices and some broccoli towards the end. This made a great dinner, and even good as left overs the next day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Hmmm, not sure about this one. I had read that I should add dry herbs at the end of slow cooking so I waited til the end of cooking and the sauce was good, but on the bland side. I made a triple batch and have since used the sauce as a base for chili and baked spaghetti where I can add flavourings as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMIESMOM1973

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I made this twice and each time I tasted a "burnt" flavor. Not too sure any tomato sauce is meant for the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
not so good kind of flat flavored and really tangy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States