Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I have made this sauce about five times and it comes out great every time. The one thing we did was add some browned ground beef with some paprika. Remember everyone...the recipes are based on the people who make it and would not be offended it you "Tweaked" it to your individual liking. Good recipe Angeleyes :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
We all enjoyed this sauce. Next time I'm going to crush the rosemary before adding it, but otherwise I enjoyed all the spices. I don't understand all the complaining reviews on here. I also added Italian sausage to make it meaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I gave this as a 5 star because it is a perfect base recipe for a starter or seasoned chef. Take the rosemary, thyme and oregano down to 1 Tablespoon and add it to taste after that, everything else looks good by reviewing. I of course would add 1/2 cup grated parmesan in the sauce and cook my meatballs in the sauce spooning out some of the grease and leaving some for flavor. Another trick for some beginners. Remember that when cooking spaghetti sauce that if its to thick add some water or and if its runny just take the lid of and allow it to cook off for awhile. This is certainly a good base recipe anyone cooking this be warned that either the Author meant 3 teaspoons or likes a very spicy sauce. Try it my way and than slowly add more spices as you go. The thing I like most about this recipe is that it is a good base if your correct the spices. After that you start adding things to your families liking and it becomes your recipe that you can hold on to and pass it on down to your kids. Unless you want to use fresh tomatoes or crushed tomatoes this is a perfect starter spaghetti sauce looking to be fully customized to your taste. Chef C.McDannel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrisx28

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I found this recipe fabulous! I don't understand the negative reviews; obviously tablespoons is too much so if you use teaspoons it is perfect. Will make many times over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I had never thought about putting rosemary and thyme in spaghetti sauce, so I was nervous but curious about this recipe. Taste wise, it was not my favorite spaghetti sauce. However, everyone still ate it, and the leftovers will be used in other dishes. Texture wise, I love it. I will adapt my spaghetti recipe for use in the crockpot. I started from whole tomatoes versus sauce, and cooked on low overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I used this recipe as a starter, the sauce was a bit strong at first, but the next day it was great! I added some brown sugar, basil and Italian seasoning to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glencoe, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
This was good with just some tweaks. I didn't use as much spice and it turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Too much oregano as recipe is written. Think I'll experiment further on my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
. This recipe at it's best might be comparable. There is nothing special here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
You do not have do be a semi competent cook to realize that this is a flawed recipe!! shame on you people for even wasting time and ingredients.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States