Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
This basic spaghetti sauce is a great starting place for someone that isn't sure how to make in the slow cooker. I was surprised at how much flavor the extra spices added. I would not have normally used that much. I did add a little bit of sugar as well since I found the sauce a little bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandakrunquist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA
Living In: Enid, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
Yuck! I always try to find one positive because some people cannot take criticism well, and I usually find ONE good thing about a recipe. The only GOOD thing about this AWFUL sauce is that my crock pot is finally rid of it. I cannot believe this is a recipe that's been passed on for generations! The spices are so overwhelming and do not blend kindly. This was awful--one spoonfulwas all it took to realize that we weren't having it for dinner that night--or EVER AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
The smell and taste of the spices were overwhelming. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
I will not make this again. The slow cooker/crock pot tends to really bring out the taste of dried herbs--it magnified it so that the herbs were overwhelming. We couldn’t even eat this. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
We DID NOT like this recipe at all! I decided to make this and upon adding the ingredients I noticed all the tablespoons of spices and decided to put 85% less then what it called for and it still came out horrible. We WILL NEVER use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
If I could have put anything lower than 1 star...that would have been more than this recipe deserved. I cannot believe I actually read this recipe and decided to make it because I wanted to do something easy in a slow cooker. This person must have been on some type of hallucination medication...and you know what I am talking about! This was the worst sauce I have ever tasted. Thank goodness I had a jar of Classico sauce in my pantry to save my family for dinner that night. I am warning you....never use this recipe. It is not edible. It's not fit for the bugs that live under my house to eat!! Please...for God's sake....do not make this sauce!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
this is the only sauce I am allowed to use in my home now ;-) it's great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
This recipe has SO many spices, but no basil. What is spaghetti sauce without basil. I substituted basil for the thyme which, to me, belongs on fish, not spaghetti. Also, it was so thin, I used some crushed tomatoes instead of all sauce. I also cut the measurements down to teaspoons instead of tablespons, but it was still too spicy. This may be a good place to start, but it has a long way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knowlton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
My first try at making home made sauce and it was easy and great tasting. I added ground beef also. Had enough to freeze for leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States