Slow Cooker Southern Lima Beans and Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I made this for supper tonight. AND was it a winner! I made a few changes: (1) added ham base since I didn't have a ham hock. (2) added a little chopped celery with the onion (3) used both ham and smoked sausage instead of just ham. The broth was perfectly seasoned. I will add this recipe to my collection and use it every time my husband requests a "pot of dried limas".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I made this recipe today and it was wonderful! Very flavorful and delicious! The Lima beans I used were cream colored and not green. There are different varieties of Lima beans (also called butter beans), in a variety of colors. It is better to Google something you don't understand, then leave a negative review when you have not made the recipe. Your false review penalizes the overall rating of the recipe, and it is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather9091

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
My family really liked this after initially thinking that they would not. I followed the recipe exactly initially, and then added several potatoes when it was turning out to be very watery. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
My family doesn't like a lot of spicy seasonings, so I only add a little black pepper, onion salt, and a smidgen of garlic powder. And still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I had to give a review on these delicious beans! The flavor was amazing! The beans were tender! I laid a big ham steak on top of the beans and let 'em cook in my Crock Pot. After they were done, I added some cooked white rice. It was very "soupy", but I loved that! This is the only way I will make beans from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kershaw, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
These beans are killer! Followed recipe exactly except added a tsp of habanero hot sauce. Beans aren't "spicy" but have a very rich flavor... will make a double batch next time! Quick soaked, then into the crockpot, covered with water, 4 hours on high, added the spices, and that was it! Didn't cook any longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Good news ~ Bad news......I did as directed in the recipe but did add a can of diced tomatoes with jalepenos. Good news ~ the beans are fantastic! Bad news ~ I did high for the first 3 hours, added the cajun seasoning and pepper and then to low for 4 hours. The beans were still too hard at the end of the 4 hours on low. Back to high for an additional 1 1/2 hours and the beans are done!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I made this tonight for dinner. It was great, much better than it looked and it looked great. I did add a clove of garlic just to have a little taste of that. It turned out wonderful. Lots of juice left over and my wife ate it like soup. I cooked it just like it said, two hours on high, four hours on low, turned out great. The spice was just perfect, I may have added about 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper rather than a pinch. Makes allot, so I cut the beans down to half, but kept the rest the same. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gillett, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Simple, yummy and a little addicting. I made these beans exactly as written. The only thing is my beans were almost done after 3 hours on high. I added the spices, stirred and left them on high for almost one hour more. Perfect! Will be making these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIANNASR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I added a bit of cumin - I soaked beans overnight (I used baby lima beans), as I usually do and then cooked all day on low in the crockpot. To poster John who added the tomatoes, the acid will affect most types of beans --- add tomatoes once the beans are already soft for better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States