Slow Cooker Southern Lima Beans and Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Joanne
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This is a great recipe. I used Spanish sweet yellow onions and that really topped it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Making now! However, I did mix it up a bit and used what I had on hand. I put a pork/ham shank in a pot and browned it then added onions a min later I put in two garlic cloves about a min later I added the beans and water and two bay leaves, salt and cracked black pepper. Smells really good! Making this with white rice and sweet chedder jalapeño cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I do not see anywhere where is says how much in cups this makes, OR, number of servings if only having cornbread with this or something as I main meal. I desperately ALWAYS need to know how much any recipe makes. Did I miss it? If someone as made this please respond. Thanks PS. I had to rate it to send this, so I rated it a 5 as most of you did and I did not want to mess up the ratings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mammak
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I am the author of this recipe. The Allrecipes cooks changed my original recipe up a little. I didn't use a hambone or meat from the hambone, even though a lot of southern cooks do. I use a ham hock, bacon, and even smoked deer sausage at times. If I use bacon, I add in the bacon drippings, too. I also use half chicken broth and half water when simmering. You can also do this on the stovetop. Just be careful and don't let the beans scorch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hemphill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
My son cooked up this recipe using our leftover ham that he smoked on Thanksgiving. He followed the recipe, but missed that it needed to be cooked on high for 3 hours at the start. The beans were still tough when I got home from work, so we transferred to the stove top and turned up the heat a bit and it was done in another hour. Very yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Made this recipe with these Christmas Limas: http://www.seedsavers.org/onlinestore/cookingbeans/Cooking-Bean-Christmas-Lima.html Added the milk and apple cider vinegar at the end. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Price

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I made this recipe today and it was wonderful! Very flavorful and delicious! The Lima beans I used were cream colored and not green. There are different varieties of Lima beans (also called butter beans), in a variety of colors. It is better to Google something you don't understand, then leave a negative review when you have not made the recipe. Your false review penalizes the overall rating of the recipe, and it is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather9091

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
My family doesn't like a lot of spicy seasonings, so I only add a little black pepper, onion salt, and a smidgen of garlic powder. And still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This was good and will fix again. I tried it exactly as written and enjoyed it. I then tried adding cider vinegar and milk as ccole6 suggested, that cut down the spiciness and added another dimension to it and will do that from now on with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States