Slow Cooker Southern Lima Beans and Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This was good and will fix again. I tried it exactly as written and enjoyed it. I then tried adding cider vinegar and milk as ccole6 suggested, that cut down the spiciness and added another dimension to it and will do that from now on with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I am making it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I had to give a review on these delicious beans! The flavor was amazing! The beans were tender! I laid a big ham steak on top of the beans and let 'em cook in my Crock Pot. After they were done, I added some cooked white rice. It was very "soupy", but I loved that! This is the only way I will make beans from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kershaw, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
My family really liked this after initially thinking that they would not. I followed the recipe exactly initially, and then added several potatoes when it was turning out to be very watery. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I made this for supper tonight. AND was it a winner! I made a few changes: (1) added ham base since I didn't have a ham hock. (2) added a little chopped celery with the onion (3) used both ham and smoked sausage instead of just ham. The broth was perfectly seasoned. I will add this recipe to my collection and use it every time my husband requests a "pot of dried limas".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Easy and good. Lima beans are just not our favorite but it was tasty and something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I made this tonight for dinner. It was great, much better than it looked and it looked great. I did add a clove of garlic just to have a little taste of that. It turned out wonderful. Lots of juice left over and my wife ate it like soup. I cooked it just like it said, two hours on high, four hours on low, turned out great. The spice was just perfect, I may have added about 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper rather than a pinch. Makes allot, so I cut the beans down to half, but kept the rest the same. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gillett, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
The recipe I received from my Norfolk,Virginia mother-in-law: at the end of cooking add 1/4 cup cider vinegar and 1/2 cup milk. This thickens it up and makes it yummy. We like to add even more vinegar to taste. Be careful not to scorch mixture after adding the milk. I turn off the heat at this point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccole6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monte Vista, Colorado, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA
Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I added a bit of cumin - I soaked beans overnight (I used baby lima beans), as I usually do and then cooked all day on low in the crockpot. To poster John who added the tomatoes, the acid will affect most types of beans --- add tomatoes once the beans are already soft for better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Perfect with hot rolls on our winter day! Takes me back to visiting Grandma in the south...very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lprp8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States