Slow Cooker Sloppy Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This recipe was delicious!! I used Swiss Steak and substituted Red Wine Vinegar for the actual Red Wine. This will be made frequently!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynette Smith Carl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I made this almost exactly as written, and it was pretty good! I didn't have a green pepper, left it out. I didn't have any Rotel, but I used a can of diced tomatoes and a half can of diced green chilies, with juice. As per another reviewer, I added a can of tomato sauce, since I also didn't have red wine. I put in a splash of balsamic vinegar to the sauce before I added it to the crock pot. Was super tasty! Next time, I think I'll add more carrots. Hubby said it tasted like an Italian pot roast he loves in a fancy restaurant! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I really liked this recipe. I did take the time to flour the meat and brown it first and I think that might be why it was so good. It took me a while to find the right meat-there are so many types of round steak. Finally found the right one, not too thin. Very tender and flavorful. Served on rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
My family loved this. I didn't brown the meat, just dredged it, put it in pan, placed sliced onions over meat, and poured mixture of Manwich (used whole can), tomatoes, and Worcestershire over it. Cooked at 225 for about 4 hours in a pan covered with foil. So tender and delicious. This one will go into my recipe "rotation."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Essary Nelson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quanah, Texas, USA
Living In: Elk Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Great!!! Had a small roast on hand, sliced it into 3 thin steaks, followed directions for tenderizing & browning the meat. I didn't have paprika, so I used garlic powder. From there, I just used what I had on hand... No rotel,so used oriental hot chili sauce (squirted less than 1/4 cup into the crock pot, it made it so HOT that I then sprinkled {?} maybe a tablespoon (or more?)of white sugar all over ingredients. I usually use brown sugar to cut heat in a dish, but was out of that. If you have to do that, go carefully with the sugar because you can always add more, but too much will ruin a dish. The final result was a perfect blend of hot and... not sweet, but just right! added 2 coarsly chopd roma tomatoes, Didn't have onions or bell peppers, so added about 1 1/2 cups chopped celery to the pot. Used the whole can of manwich cuz what am I gonna do with 1/2 can of leftover manwich? Didn't have red wine, splashed in some red wine vinegar and worsterchire sauce, didn't measure anything so these are all "guesstimates". I did have some baby carrots that I used, they gave a nice texture to the dish. I needed to use up some instant mashed potatoes and this dish was perfect for that. Served this dish on top of the potatoes and since this dish was so spicy and flavorful, I didn't mind the potatoes being instant. I admit, I am a potato snob! That is why this box of instant potatoes had been in the pantry forever, cuz I love fresh mashed potatoes! Will definately make again!Yum:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariegg

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Did not use the slow cooker, was in a hurry and used ground beef. Next time I'll add soy sauce on the table...this was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Manteno, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I, too, skipped the browning part. I didn't have Sloppy Joe sauce, so I used a small can of tomato sauce and an equal amount of BBQ sauce. Added a squirt of Tabasco and some soy sauce. I used a frozen bag of carrot medallions, and both the steak and carrots were frozen when I started the Crockpot. Came home to a yummy dish we served over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Doubled the recipe and omitted the browning of the meat. I did season and dredge in flour but added right to the crockpot in layers with the veggies. My only other change was to use white wine since I had no red. Otherwise this smells so good while cooking all day. Served with Seasoned Noodle Mix from this site and and Grandmothers Buttermilk Cornbread from this site. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I've now made 2 Swiss steak recipes from this site and liked the other one better although this one is still good. I served mine over white rice but it would go really good over some mashed potatoes too :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This was just alright. It tasted kind of like a spicy roast. Also, you can use any cheap cut of meat in this recipe, it cooks so long, its all going to fall apart anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States