Slow Cooker Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
loved it ...,,... my grandmother used to make it ....yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Not bad. I still prefer my mom's recipe, but this was fun to try, and hubs loves shepherd's pie so he was game for it. I didn't really layer but mixed the meat, gravy, and veggies all together. I just used a full bag of frozen mixed veggies. I added a bit too much gravy, but I made my own (don't get too impressed--I used a gravy mix since gravy is one of those things I've never mastered) and wasn't really sure how much equaled a jar. I then just topped with a lot of mashed potatoes, put my oval slow cooker on low and let it cook for about 3 1/2 hours. When I saw the gravy bubbling up over the potatoes, I figured it was done and I was right. No mushiness, and a very filling dinner. It could perhaps use some garlic and onion as well as other spices, but it was good as is. I never add extra salt and pepper since hubs usually does that at the table before he even tries his food. We have lots leftover but as I said, hubs loves it so it'll be eaten even with just the two of us. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Mine did not turn out so good. maybe because I threw it together so fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I used Jimmy Dean suasage and the rest. Very fast prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirleytemple

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I hate it when people completely change up a recipe and then rate it on their changes instead of the original recipe, but that's exactly what I'm going to do today. And this just goes to show you how versatile and forgiving this recipe concept is. I had ground sweet Italian sausage, peas, corn, turkey gravy and 1/3 of a bag of frozen hashbrowns that I needed to use up. I cooked the sausage, added the peas and corn, added the turkey gravy and kicked up the flavor with beef bouillon granules, brought this to a simmer, then poured it into a 9x9 casserole. I thawed and drained the frozen hashbrowns, added a handful of parmesan cheese to them, mixed it up with about 2 or 3 tablespoons of melted butter until they had the consistency of lumpy mashed potatoes. I then dropped spoonfuls of the hashbrown mixture onto the meat and gravy mixture carefully spreading the potato topping with the back of a spoon until it covered the meat mixture. I popped this in a 350 oven until the topping was evenly golden brown and crispy. This was a decent, quick, comfort food meal that pleased the family and pleased me in it's simplicity. You could easily swap the sausage for beef, chicken or turkey, use the appropriate gravy for the meat and whatever veggies you have on hand that need to be utilized. I'll be reaching for this recipe again when I have leftovers that need to be used up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKWRIGHT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boring, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
While my kids totally loved this...I doubled the recipe exactly. I should have left the gravy to one jar. Because it became a mushy to soupy consistancy through the cooking process. However, there wasn't much left after the kids nailed it and raved how good it was. I didn't try it myself until the day after the meal was made. It is a quick fix when your in a rutt and it's very inexpensive. Some one said that it might be bland. So going into it, I had used 1 pound of Bob Evans Savory Sage Sausage and 1 pound of Bob Evans Original Sausage. And I did follow the rest to a T. We didn't find it at all bad, it was fairly descent recipe and very tasty. I had tried this seperately the day after I made it, and reguardless on the over thought and outcome from beginning to end. It was very good.. Even though the gravy made it mushy to soupy, reheating it was excellent. Totally mix it all together and you have a wonderful delight. Without having to add a biscuit. It ended up being country comfort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is an easy crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This was alright. With all the work you have to do, I'd rather just make this in the oven. Putting it in the oven is better anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carebear05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I added some more veggies to this and it was terrific! I think I used too much gravy though (I used mushroom gravy and was awesome!) because the potatoes ended up running down into the gravy instead of staying on top. Next time, I'm using real mashed potatoes and less gravy. But gave a good foundation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Leesville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This is a great recipe to improvise with. Use leftover cooked carrots, gravy and ground beef to give this an authentic home cooked taste. Homemade gravy is so simple yet makes all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beresford, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States