Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Super easy to fix and tasted great!! I cooked on high in crockpot for 4hrs but will cook for 5 hours next time to make the potatoes a bit more creamy. I will also omit the salt, its not needed with the cheese and ham there is plenty of sodium. Also.used full can milk with the soup instead of water. Great recipe and my husband and daughters ages 3 and 5 loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Very easy and tasty - my husband is a big fan of ham and scalloped potatoes so I just had to make this for him! I did tweak the recipe a bit. I more than doubled the amount of ham and used a whole vidalia onion layering it in the crock pot first along with light shredded cheddar cheese. I mixed 98% fat free cream of mushroom soup with an equal can of fat free half and half vs. water. I used fresh minced garlic vs. powdered. I poured that over everything and let it go on high for 4 hours. Since it didn't seem creamy enough I added 4 oz. light cream cheese and another 1/2 cup of shredded cheese. I cooked it for another two hours and it thickend up and was a lot creamier. My husband asked for seconds so it's a definite winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Amazing I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
My dad is from Idaho and he always says he's never met a potato he didn't like but he didn't like these and asked me not to make them again. I think for us the Cream of Mushroom soup clashed with the cheese. I did add extra cheese (more than double) to try and save them but it didn't help. They did cook through with 2 hours on high and 3 on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by historygal22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
An absolutely delicious recipe. I made it for my Easter 2014 dinner (just the cats and I so I didn't want to cook up a whole, big ham). I have to admit that I added 1 1/2 table spoons of Old Bay seasoning to the slow cooker but then I add Old Bay to just about everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This dish is a great, delicious and timeless dish that our family loves. To layer it first before cooking is key. Kim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Followed the recipe for the most part, but added about two cups more cheese; one cheddar, one mozz, one pepper jack. Added some fresh mushrooms and replaced water for milk. Great weeknight dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Definitely just ok. If I were to make it again I would make so many changes that I may as well look for a different recipe. We found it to be under-seasoned and too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hattifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This was good, but not great. Just lacking something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Skid Markley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This was very good for an easy recipe but it would have been better with added spices (maybe minced garlic and paprika?)I started it off on high and my potatoes started to burn at the sides of the crockpot. I did use cooking spray before adding the ingredients but it helped only on the bottom. I used water as stated but later when everything started getting too thick and dry, I added a little milk. Also, I didn't add the ham and cheese at the start. I waited until about an hour before serving to add the ham, then a little later, slices of sharp cheddar cheese (I was in too much of a hurry to grate it). I read so many reviews where the cheese got lost in the mix so though this way would be better. I let it melt a bit, then stirred gently. This cheese was very yummy in it. I think it helped that I used sharp cheese since I didn't even put the 1 cup the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States