Slow Cooker Sausage with Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
To my surprise, this was quite good for minimal ingredients and effort. I was looking for something easy to be ready for a packed lunch in the morning without sitting over a stove. To top, I had everything in the house. I purchased some home-made sausage at the Farmer's Market and had gotten home to realize I was accidentally given some type of non-flavored variety. I didn't know what to do with it. Although, I am typically not a fan of jarred pasta it works here. I used a basil flavor from Classico. I added at least a cup extra of water to thin it out some. I also, for the first time tested crock-pot liners. Loved using them, no clean-up! My sausage package had 4 in it. I de-cased the sausage and cut it into about 1-1 1/2" slices. At the time, I thought to stretch the meal with some pasta or rice. I then realized I only had about 1/2 of a large green pepper left so I used that much and it worked fine. I added the sliced onion and then my only addition was a couple pinches of garlic powder. I cooked it on high, instead of low, about 4-5 hours. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I made this using the Johnsonville Sweet Italian Sausage and Ragu Chunky Tomato, Garlic & Onion sauce....added 3 pepper and onion blend. It's delicious. My kids love it! We also sprinkle shredded cheese on top after placing on a bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Simple, quick and easy. When cooking meat in a slow cooker, I usually put the meat in by itself with a half cup of water and allow it to cook for a couple of hours, either on high or low. Then I drain the water and grease from the meat and add the rest of the ingredients. I've done this for years. It eliminates the need to cook anything on the stove top, less steps to take, less clean-up and gets rid of most of the grease from the cooked meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Just made this over the weekend. I read the reviews before trying this out so I did boil the two packages of "Perri brand" sausages for about 15 minutes before adding them to the crockpot. I covered the sausages with two bags of frozen peppers and onions and two jars of "Victoria" brand pasta sauce. SO easy! Set on high for three hours instead of six hours on low. Family LOVED this. The sausages were tender and tasty. Served on toasted rolls and put provolone cheese on top. This is a definite keeper. Glad I doubled it because these went fast. This would be a great pot luck dinner. Thank you so much for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Don't know what I did wrong, but this turned out horribly for me. Sausage was tasteless, sauce tasted burned, and pepoers and onions just melted, and not in a good way. Sorry for those of you out there that loved this, but it's off my cookbook forever now. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
A keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Since the price of meat has gone up,we decided to make our own sausage. We made two kinds just to test it out,one with all kinds of cheese and the other one was stuffed with peppers and onions..this recipe was just what I was looking for.I used the progresso fire roasted tomato starter sauce.I added some froze peppers and onions. An hour before it was done,I cut up some fresh peppers and onions and threw them in..Hubby LOVED IT.Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tenafly, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cairo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
So easy, based on other reviews I boiled the sausage for about 10 minutes prior to adding to the crock pot. I added basil, black pepper, crushed red pepper, and garlic to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This was a very easy recipe and it was delicious! I took the advise of other reviewers and boiled the sausage for about 30 minutes before placing it in the crockpot. It was the most tender sausage I've ever eaten! This is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Great tasting recipe for something so simple. I used a local hot Italian sausage and did not have any problem with there being any extra fat on the surface of the sauce.I did pierce the sausage before putting everything in the cooker. Served on hard rolls. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Slow Cooker Cheese Steaks

The slow cooker is the best way to make perfectly tender cheese steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States