Slow Cooker Sausage with Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Awesome Recipe. I first had this at a picnic I recently attended. I had to have the recipe. There was one change I need to make and this refers to a comment about the grease and for better flavor and the advice of the person who gave me the recipe. Before you put the sausages in the crock, put the sausages in a skillet and brown them up, and as you are browning, punch each sausage with a fork in 3 areas and finish browning. The sausage actually has a lot more flavor, without the fat and grease. Of course drain the excess grease from pan before you put in crock. I also smash them a bit to drain even more of the grease. Let me know what you think! Another piece of advice, these are really good if you grill the rolls right before you serve it. Always make sure you have the freshest bread, it makes a difference. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
LOVE THIS! As others suggested I browned sausage in a pan before cooking. So easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This was delicious! I, too, boiled and browned sausage before slow cooking. For fear of too much sodium in the jarred spaghetti sauce, I used 6oz tomato paste, 8oz tomato sauce, one can (15 oz?) crushed tomatoes, one can italian style diced tomatoes, black pepper, red pepper flakes (about 1/4 tsp), 3 cloves minced garlic, and about 1/4 c chopped fresh basil. The slow cooker really created an intense sauce flavor! yummy! oh, and I only cooked 3.5-4 hours on low and sausage was tender. Followed the recommendation of more veggies, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Ok ... but not a favorite with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Haughey Coffman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I can't think of a reason to rate this less than a 5. I didn't boil my sausage, but I used Johnsonville, so maybe its less greasy. This is a great one dish meal that is better for leftovers. The sausage was tender and served over brown rice, fairly healthy. I added one extra pepper (red), but made no other changes. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VKruliko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Great recipe! This was so easy to prepare and tasted very good. I used this on a bun and also with pasta. I did boil the sausage a little to remove some grease but there was not that much, will just add to slow cooker next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
We love this, it is so good over spaghetti. I added 1 more bell pepper and 2 cloves of garlic and a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reggie Tucker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, California, USA
Living In: Leesville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Good overall, the brand of sausage is key as a cheaper brand can make this dish taste overly salty. Recommendation would be to check ingredients for sodium content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Vickery

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
We loved the sandwiches we got from this recipe. All I did was put frozen Al Fresco's Chicken Sausages in the slowcooker and pour a jar of Trader Joe's Roasted Red Pepper Marinara over the top and let it cook on low for about seven hours. I put a little mayo on some fresh store-bought rolls and grilled them nicely, added some pepper jack cheese, and some red onion. This made a very delicious sandwich which was perfect for a busy day! Thanks for the idea of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Slow Cooker Cheese Steaks

The slow cooker is the best way to make perfectly tender cheese steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States