Slow Cooker Sausage with Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
In the treadition of Allrecipes I'll say that I liked the recipe but added to it for my own taste preferences. Needs 1 bell pepper chopped or sliced, 1 brown or yellow onion chopped or sliced, 1 or 2 cloves of garlic minced, a sprinkle of crushed red pepper. Made my own sauce, If you have a lot of sauce. One of my kids liked it on a hoagie smothered in sauce like open face then eats it with a fork and knife but not until lots of provolone melted on top nd then sprinkle some pamasean cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oldsingledad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Awesome recipe. I browned the sausage first and used pizza sauce in place of the spaghetti sauce. Tons of peppers and onions and mozz cheese on top. Toasted the buns. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I made this using just two hot Italian sausage links. I scaled back the other ingredients accordingly, but used more bell peppers, a mix of green, red and yellow, along with the onion. After reading the reviews I decided to boil the sausages to help eliminate the excessive grease others mentioned. I should have remembered that they would instantly turn an awful shade of gray once plunged into boiling water, so I pulled them out of the water and browned them in a skillet. Returned them to the boiling water for about 5 minutes. After all that I didn’t get much grease from my sausages at all, so I’ll skip that whole thing next time. This was good. I meant to add fresh basil at the very end, but forgot. I served this over bow tie pasta and we enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
cooked sausage down a little before,added a bit of garlic and mushrooms and hot sauce. can use as much veggies as you want, there is more than plenty liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
So easy and delicious. It is made even easier using a chicken sausage (our local grocer makes them fresh with parsley, so they have nice flavor but no fat!) This is in my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I make Italian sausage like this all the time and the family LOVES it. I put the peppers and onions on the bottom of the crock pot, put frozen Italian sausage on top, then pour sauce over everything. The sausage comes out so tender every time! And I love that I don't need to thaw out the sausage first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
So good! Added some mushrooms too and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BlessedBaker
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Awesome! Will definitely make again. My hubby said it was the best sausage sub he's ever had and the recipe is a keeper. Did follow others advice about cooking the sausage some before starting it in the slow cooker to avoid all the grease and added cheese. The meat was tender and the flavors were well infused.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Glad that I read the reviews before i got too far into the recipe. I just yanked my sausage out of the slow cooker and threw them into a pot to degrease. Can hardly wait until supper time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Devon, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Very good and very easy to put together on a busy day. I followed the recipe and just put the sausage in the slow cooker raw, I didn't have a problem with my sauce getting greasy. I think it really depends on what brand of sausage you use. I used my grocery stores sausage that they make in house. Also added some garlic and Italian seasoning. Tasty. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Slow Cooker Cheese Steaks

The slow cooker is the best way to make perfectly tender cheese steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States