Slow Cooker Sausage with Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
It was great and very easy! You definitely want to fry or boil sausages for 10-15 mins before adding them to the slow cooker. Like other reviewers mentioned, the meat was surprisingly tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I mix 1/2 jar salsa with 1/2 jar spaghetti sauce. I like a mild salsa but you can also use a spicy one for more heat. I don't like the slow cooker for this....too much grease. I boil the sausage first then add it to the sauce/vegetable mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
This sandwich is one of my family's favorite dishes for when we all get together. So easy to make and topped with a little shredded mozzarella or fresh grated parmesan cheese, it's awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoseMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
this isn't a 'recipe', it's taken off of the side of a jar of sauce. Come on... lets get cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Very good. We have a local sausage maker whose Italian sausage is very lean and delicious, so greasiness wasn't a factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I was a little worried when I saw it in the end, but my family devoured it (a family of picky eaters)!! So easy and smelled amazing! I had to make double the amount for my big family but even stretching the ingredients did not effect the taste. I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
To my surprise, this was quite good for minimal ingredients and effort. I was looking for something easy to be ready for a packed lunch in the morning without sitting over a stove. To top, I had everything in the house. I purchased some home-made sausage at the Farmer's Market and had gotten home to realize I was accidentally given some type of non-flavored variety. I didn't know what to do with it. Although, I am typically not a fan of jarred pasta it works here. I used a basil flavor from Classico. I added at least a cup extra of water to thin it out some. I also, for the first time tested crock-pot liners. Loved using them, no clean-up! My sausage package had 4 in it. I de-cased the sausage and cut it into about 1-1 1/2" slices. At the time, I thought to stretch the meal with some pasta or rice. I then realized I only had about 1/2 of a large green pepper left so I used that much and it worked fine. I added the sliced onion and then my only addition was a couple pinches of garlic powder. I cooked it on high, instead of low, about 4-5 hours. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I made this using the Johnsonville Sweet Italian Sausage and Ragu Chunky Tomato, Garlic & Onion sauce....added 3 pepper and onion blend. It's delicious. My kids love it! We also sprinkle shredded cheese on top after placing on a bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Simple, quick and easy. When cooking meat in a slow cooker, I usually put the meat in by itself with a half cup of water and allow it to cook for a couple of hours, either on high or low. Then I drain the water and grease from the meat and add the rest of the ingredients. I've done this for years. It eliminates the need to cook anything on the stove top, less steps to take, less clean-up and gets rid of most of the grease from the cooked meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Just made this over the weekend. I read the reviews before trying this out so I did boil the two packages of "Perri brand" sausages for about 15 minutes before adding them to the crockpot. I covered the sausages with two bags of frozen peppers and onions and two jars of "Victoria" brand pasta sauce. SO easy! Set on high for three hours instead of six hours on low. Family LOVED this. The sausages were tender and tasty. Served on toasted rolls and put provolone cheese on top. This is a definite keeper. Glad I doubled it because these went fast. This would be a great pot luck dinner. Thank you so much for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Slow Cooker Cheese Steaks

The slow cooker is the best way to make perfectly tender cheese steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States