Slow Cooker Sausage 'n' Grits Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This is one of the best meatloaves I have had. I did make some changes. Ground Turkey Sweet Italian Turkey Sausage Added a package of dry onion soup oregano Italian Seasoning salt and pepper Omitted the smoke Boy was this great. The grits make a better binder than breadcrumbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BESNAC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Tasty and easily prepared. I was afraid the grits would be, well, gritty, but they were nicely incorporated. I will definitely cook again. And the foil strips are ingenious and not to be skipped. They will definitely make your life easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Great!! i did not use the liquid smoke, and have used dry polenta instead of grit with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I was very surprised how good this was and how much my family loved it. I followed the recipe exactly and probably would not make any changes next time. My wife said that we definitely need to put this recipe on the rotation. I would rate this a 4 although my family all said 5 stars. Looking forward to some leftovers for sandwiches tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jane Ruby
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Let me respond to some of the less favorable reviews. Please use dry uncooked grits. You can also use 2 eggs instead of 1/3 cup of egg whites. Yes, it will be drier than traditional meatloaf, so use catsup, salsa, or your favorite gravy to moisten. Personally I can eat it without any help. Yes, the taste differs from the traditional beef/bread crumb texture. It's more dense, spicier and not as sloppy, which is PERFECT for leftover sandwiches that has mayonnaise or mustard. My fav sandwich consists of mayo, dill pickle, lettuce, tomato and sour dough bread. Yes, you can use onion soup instead of onion powder/garlic salt seasoning. Let me know how that works. I am intrigued by one person's use of polenta instead of grits. I want to try that and see if the moisture of the polenta adds to the texture of the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
How wonderful! I like my meatloaf firm and usin' grits just makes perfect sense!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judd Jugmonger
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Terrific recipe. Great way to make Gluten free meatloaf!! I added a meatloaf sauce for a little extra zing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panama Papp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
AMAZING! Moist and flavorful!! I did not have onion powder, so I used 1 tablespoon of minced onion. TOO DIE FOR! My 5 yr old is eating it up as I type!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
simple recipe with great results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Sutter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
SOOO DELICIOUS!! It's so nice to have this slow cooker recipe because it's different than the usual stews or chilis. The only change I made is that I used marinara sauce in place of the ketchup because I had some in the fridge that I wanted to use up. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States