Slow Cooker Sauerkraut and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I make this recipe every New Year's Day for my family. I couldn't stand this stuff as a kid, but I love it today (and so does the hubby)! One change I make is using thinly sliced apples instead of the onions. I also RINSE my sauerkraut lightly in strainer. Other variations we also love is using kielbasa or beef smoked sausage. I cut pieces into 1/2", layer a small amount of sauerkraut on bottom of crockpot, then some sliced sausage, then thinly sliced apples, then small amount of brown sugar. I repeat this until everything is inside. I always end with sauerkraut on top so the sausage doesn't become hard and overcooked. Before eating salt and pepper to taste. It's even better the NEXT day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
A great starter recipe. I used beer brats,3 cans of sourkrout,1 green apple (sliced), 1/4 cup brown sugar and half a can of beer. Cook on low in the slow cooker for 6 six hours. It turned out so yummy. I offered hoogie rolls if people wanted them. I made a huge salad and some baked beans to go with! Will make again and again. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
Great for kielbasa sausage. I added a tablespoon or two ( I didn't measure; just squirted some in) of dijonaise mustard and it seemed to help sweeten the taste of the kraut. I also used the bagged type of kraut, which seems to lend better flavor than the canned or jarred types.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Mrs. Morrison (3/17/08) totally changed the recipe, didn't she?! I wonder what she thinks of the original recipe. I'll take grannycancook's version. If it ain't broke, don't fix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
Drain and rinse the sauerkraut to get rid of the salt. Try turkey kielbasa for the sausage, it will have much less fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2000
Good flavor. For those of us who really like sauerkraut it's a winner !!! Better with Keilbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Excellent recipe, one we have used for several years..just never with the turkey sausage till now. We always layer the top with canned biscuits for the last 20 minutes. Delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
Delicious! The onion and brown sugar give it just the right flavors. I used polish sausage and chopped the onion. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Ruzycki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
This was fairly average in my opinion, but I served it at a party and it was gone in a few minutes and I got several compliments (I trippled the recipe for the party). This was SUPER easy and very economical. My complaint was, that I did add a few (3 small) diced potatoes to this (as someone suggested) and after 3 hours on high, they weren't finished cooking, so it went another hour or two on low, and by then, the potatoes and kraut were done, but the sausages were WAY overcooked. I think next time I'd add the sausages in the last 2 hours of cooking, and then everything would be done at the right time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: St.Thomas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
Lovely! I had a package (plastic tube type stuff) of breakfast type sausage 12 oz. and reduced the recipe using the calculator to 3 servings. I slit a hole near the crimp in the sausage and squirted it out in a loop around the crock and it turned out wonderfully! Other than that I followed the recipe to the letter (using the 3 servings measurements as a guideline) but added a few ounces of water before turning it to low. Turned out great! I also used about half a jar of sauerkraut (usually 32 oz.) and added all of the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States