Slow Cooker Sauerkraut and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This is simplest version of Polish dish called "bigos". To bigos we Polish, add also chunks of beef, pork, mushrooms (wild are better), plums, red wine, bay leaves and black pepper. We cook it slow and eat it for a day or two, for the next day bigos is better. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
We loved it! I like the touch of sweetness the brown sugar adds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Loftis Rollins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This turned out great!I did add a few things (per other reviews) 1-2 tbs of dijon mustard, an apple chopped and I served this with a side of hot mustard. All else I followed to the letter and it was perfect! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karee
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This was ok to me. My daughter and husband liked better than I did. I used smoked sausage cut up for the meat. I didn't drain the kraut and chopped an onion in it also. Used 1/2 cup of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blytheville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I love this dish - though many people simply don't like the flavor of sauerkraut and like it even less when it's sweet and sour. I add diced green peppers and onions to mine, but overall, for those kraut lovers this has just the right amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Sausage was overcooked, and the juices were very bland. This was a huge dissappointment. No one in the family would eat more than one bite, and I had to toss out the whole pot of food. Unfortunately this goes down in the family history as one of my cooking disasters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Very tasty. My husband said it was the best sauerkraut he ever had! I used turkey kielbasa instead of sausage though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
It was really good. I made it exactly as the recipe says. I think it was alittle bland.... could use salt pepper maybe some bratwurst mustard... but other than that very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobo's Mama
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
A wonderful dish. My husband is German and I am learning to not only cook German food, but also to enjoy it. This was a great place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Wonderful! I added 1 can of beer after the first 2 hours on high then turned it down to low and let it simmer for 4-5 more hours and then served over mashed potatos...the BEST dish or its kind and oh so simple...loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NotJulia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States