Slow Cooker Sauerkraut and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CLOUDLESS
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
We like sausage on a bun with sauerkraut once in a while so I thought I'd give this recipe a try. Unfortunately this just wasn't something we enjoyed at all. I used the big jar of wine sauerkraut which I drained and rinsed and I used double smoked Harvest sausage from Costco. The sausage was just ok, and the sauerkraut was sweet and tangy but in a bad way. It really stunk up the house too. Maybe I don't like sauerkraut as much as I thought? Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
easy to execute and not too crazy with the time management. Easy to put together after a day at the office for a Hot Dinner on the fly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This is delicious. I make it as is when I want to put it together quick. When I have extra time and energy, I'll add other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I liked this ok, but my husband and son thought it was quite good. I used kielbasa like so many recommended. I will make it again, at some point, but I will cook it on low for around 8 hours, and see if I like it better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
The only changes I made were to add caraway and 3 juniper berries. Very quick, easy, and as someone said, economical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I loved it and like someone else suggested, I sliced an apple and used it instead of the onion. I have never been a sauerkraut lover, but this was really good. I used the big pork sausage links and just sliced them and layered them in the crockpot. I also sprinkled a little more brown sugar on the layers. This is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Delicious. Used beef smoked sausages sliced on the bias. Only change I made was to rinse off the sauerkraut first. So easy. Served as a side for Labor Day BBQ with grilled ribs, mashed potatoes, succotash and a salad. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
My whole family loved this! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Delish! I added one granny smith apple and used only half an onion. This is a wonderful New Year's Day dish but it will be on our regular rotation too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I used lite turkey sausage and it was delicous! Drained the sauerkraut, peeled an apple and let it do it's thing. Served this over mashed potatoes and it was a pretty healthy meal. I think I too will start serving on New Years Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States